Archive for November 16, 2008

Briefly.

Posted: November 16, 2008 in Journal, Video, weekend

Calvin and I cleaned the house top to bottom yesterday, and then went to various stores looking for cooking implements. The Great Indoors was not helpful at all ($20 for a strainer??? I don’t think so.) Bed, Bath, and Beyond had most of what we needed, but we left there still lacking a flat whisk (which Calvin and the lady checking us out were convinced I had made up – quoth Calvin, “How can a whisk be flat???”) and pie weights (“Pie weights? What are they for?”). The checkout lady directed us to the nearby Sur La Table, which I really wish she hadn’t, because now it’s my New Crack Store. Not only did we find the flat whisk and pie weights (quoth I, “See??? They DO exist!”), but I also got to spend some time visiting with some other items I covet – a KitchenAid 5-quart mixer (in red!), some lovely Staub cocottes, and pretty much everything else that’s on my cooking wish list. Remember when Amazon used to periodically hold contests for people to win the entire contents of their wish lists? Wish they still did that.

Anyway, we got home, decided it was too early to be in for the night, went driving around listening to Southern Fried Rock (Calvin teased me because I was initially calling it, “Country Fried Rock”) with the windows down, then came home and watched “Hellboy II” (which I didn’t like) and most of “Get Smart” (which was okay) before turning it off and calling it a night.

Thus far today I have disassembled and cleaned the dog’s cage, given Oz a bath (which he PURRED through, he loved it so), given Zoe a bath (which she YOWLED through, she hated it so), soaked and fed Cheeto and Lucy, did some yard work, did some hot tub maintenance, cleaned the kitchen, clipped coupons, and watched some football. I’m going to go see what progress I can make against the mountain of laundry awaiting me, watch some more football, and probably read a book. I leave you now with the video of a song that is currently firmly stuck in my head. Have a happy Sunday!