Briefly.

Posted: November 16, 2008 in Journal, Video, weekend

Calvin and I cleaned the house top to bottom yesterday, and then went to various stores looking for cooking implements. The Great Indoors was not helpful at all ($20 for a strainer??? I don’t think so.) Bed, Bath, and Beyond had most of what we needed, but we left there still lacking a flat whisk (which Calvin and the lady checking us out were convinced I had made up – quoth Calvin, “How can a whisk be flat???”) and pie weights (“Pie weights? What are they for?”). The checkout lady directed us to the nearby Sur La Table, which I really wish she hadn’t, because now it’s my New Crack Store. Not only did we find the flat whisk and pie weights (quoth I, “See??? They DO exist!”), but I also got to spend some time visiting with some other items I covet – a KitchenAid 5-quart mixer (in red!), some lovely Staub cocottes, and pretty much everything else that’s on my cooking wish list. Remember when Amazon used to periodically hold contests for people to win the entire contents of their wish lists? Wish they still did that.

Anyway, we got home, decided it was too early to be in for the night, went driving around listening to Southern Fried Rock (Calvin teased me because I was initially calling it, “Country Fried Rock”) with the windows down, then came home and watched “Hellboy II” (which I didn’t like) and most of “Get Smart” (which was okay) before turning it off and calling it a night.

Thus far today I have disassembled and cleaned the dog’s cage, given Oz a bath (which he PURRED through, he loved it so), given Zoe a bath (which she YOWLED through, she hated it so), soaked and fed Cheeto and Lucy, did some yard work, did some hot tub maintenance, cleaned the kitchen, clipped coupons, and watched some football. I’m going to go see what progress I can make against the mountain of laundry awaiting me, watch some more football, and probably read a book. I leave you now with the video of a song that is currently firmly stuck in my head. Have a happy Sunday!

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    YAY for Fremont Street!

  2. Kim says:

    Damn, I thought I got a lot done this weekend. Compared to you, I’ve been a lazy, shameful sloth.
    I’m hoping I can make up for some of it tomorrow since I don’t have to go to work – yay, me!

  3. Those bunnies freak me out.

  4. Jen says:

    okay, you need to take me to the Table place so I can shop for Bobby for Xmas.

    Say Tuesday?

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    I see “Sur la Table” and think “Eddie.” I admit it, I’m twisted.

  6. Laura says:

    Heather – Does Fremont Street typically have psycho bunnies from hell?

    Kim – My most productive days are when I’m having a bad headspace day. If I keep moving, keep busy, my brain can’t find me.

    MTAE – I stole the abbreviation from TB’s site… ummm, yeah, I totally don’t get the bunnies. It’s like they looked at the concept (the WTF concept, at that) and said, “Hey, you know what would really set this video off? Man-sized bunnies!”

    Jen – As long as you make sure I don’t buy anything. NOTHING.

    TB – Aw, yeah, you’re sick and twisted! ~grin~

  7. iamheatherjo says:

    It’s Downtown Vegas, what do you think? 😉

    Honestly, as soon as I heard what song it was I had to make it stop! I just saw the 4 Queens and the Fremont Street Experience and I suddenly missed Vegas a whole bunch. Downtown was my very favorite part of Vegas when I lived there. I’m not a huge fan of The Strip.

  8. dyskinesia says:

    Ooooo, Sur La Table is a crack house filled with juicers!

    Actually, I’ve never been in one (actually, I’ve never been in either, ha!), but I have ordered online. They have the perfect implement for peeling tomatoes. Yeah, I said it.

    And I admit it: I covet your flat whisk…

  9. Laura says:

    Heather – I’ve never been to Vegas, as you know, so some day we need to go together!

    Dyskinesia – “…a crack house filled with juicers!” BWAAAHAHAHAHAHAAAA. Do you make home-made pasta sauce? That’s the only reason I can think of to need a tomato peeler. Also, do you make a lot of sauces, gravies, roux? The flat whisk is INDESPENSABLE for that.

  10. dyskinesia says:

    If by homemade you mean by ‘making’ myself open the jar ‘at home’….

    No, actually, it was for my mother, who just has a thing for peeled tomatoes in her salad, with cottage cheese, etc. Best $6 mom gift, eveh!

    …sigh, lately the only thing I make a lot of is peanut butter and jelly. 😛 Doesn’t mean I can’t covet good utensils though! 😉

Leave a Reply

