Aaaaand she’s out!

Posted: November 24, 2009 in blogkeeping, Drama

Okay, people, here’s where you get confused. Ready?

“Laura” = Tiffany
“Calvin” = Bill
“Michael” = Robert
“Marie” = Amanda

All the other “characters” names are pretty much their real names, as far as I can remember (I was once going to give even the PETS their own nom-de-nets, then I was all, “Jaysus, fucker, get a life.”). I’ll correct ’em as I go along, how’s that? Some things are still going to remain as they were – referring to my primary employer as “AcronymCo” being one of them. I won’t be publishing my address and phone number, either. Some bloggers I know actually do that, and I wonder how much harassment they get as a result.

This is going to take some getting used to. Whenever I talk about Bill my fingers automatically want to hit Shift-C. Anyway. If you happen to see any areas of the site that need names updated (the “About” page is next on my list) let me know!

I’m still going to write as “Laura Charon” over at Beyond Megapixels and UpTake – at least until I talk to my editors about whether or not they want me to change over there, since I’m removing the veil of anonymity.

So! Uh, yeah. Anticlimactic much? Yet, I feel kind of nervous. God knows why. This is bound to make things easier on me.

Comments
  1. Kimmothy says:

    I always wondered why Bill was “Calvin,” as in, and Hobbes?

  2. sherry says:

    I don’t even know you guys in real life and I still had to sometimes stop myself from using your real names in comments! How do you feel now that you’ve er, come out so to speak?

    • Tiffany says:

      Really, the only concern I have is for folks who try to “find” me again after not reading for a while, and think they have the wrong place. Also, new readers who plow through the archives and are all, “Wait. Laura? Tiffany? Who? What?” The lack of continuity on this site (multiple “names”, multiple locations, multiple formats) is staggering.

  3. Heather says:

    I think I’ll be able to handle the transition. 😀

  4. jadesymb says:

    thank gods!

  5. Amanda says:

    It’s funny ’cause whenever I tell Neal about some recipe of yours or whatever, I automatically say “Laura… er, I mean Tiffany.” It’s like you’ve had a split personality, heh!

  6. Jeanette says:

    I think I already knew your name was Tiffany from your Facebook page…but your picture looks like a Laura to me!!

  7. Welcome to the world of the “outed.”

  8. Taoist Biker says:

    I’ve had the hardest time even since I’ve learned your actual name. I think a made-up name like mine makes a much easier secret identity to shed than an alternate real name, because that just makes so much SENSE. So I’d be talking to Dys and saying “Laura…uh, Tiffany…oh, whatever that chick’s name is.”

    Fuck it. Hansel.

  9. avitable says:

    I’m happy for you. It’s much more freeing not being anonymous.

    • Tiffany says:

      Thanks! I started up a professional photography website under “Snerkology Media”, so I figured it would be silly to be the “real” me over there, but the “not-real” me over here. Plus, I like to cause confusion and mayhem whenever possible.

  10. […] I started blogging under my real name. […]

  11. Madolyn says:

    I was just going thru some old bookmarks and I clicked on one for The Storyteller and was surprised to see that page still exists. Went over to the main page. I could have looked at archives but I decided to see what you’re writing now… and that’s how I got here. You may recall that I wrote under a couple of different names at different times (starting as “Gleemonger”, although we might not have been acquainted that far back). I mostly don’t bother with anonymity now, unless I go the whole hog (and have a very good reason for doing so) and set up something completely unconnected to whatever else I’m doing online at the time. I don’t even have archives any more, since my old computer died and my new one doesn’t get on terribly well with my backup drive *sniff sniff* Ah, anyway, hello 🙂 *waves*

  12. Madolyn says:

    Um, sorry… I *meant* to say (but forgot) that one time recently-ish when I was doing the total anonymity thing and had assigned pseudonyms to pretty much everyone I was even remotely likely to mention, and then I went and got brain cramp and started talking about them to our mutual friends, *using the pseudonym I’d given them rather than their actual names*. Cue major embarrassment and shuffling of feet in imaginary dirt. Yah.

Leave a comment