Archive for January 1, 2009

Start your engines!

Posted: January 1, 2009 in best things, Food, Holiday, Home, vacation, weekend

Hello, it’s 2009. Keep that in mind when dating checks. I always screw that up for a few weeks into the new year.

Tuesday was a very good day for me. My friend Joss stopped by at about 11:30, and we went to Kona Grill for some sushi. Following that excellent lunch, we went to Massage Envy. An hour later we were all noodled out and practically incoherent, so we went to Juan Jaime’s (next door to the massage parlor – and doesn’t calling it a “massage parlor” make it sound naughty?) for a couple of drinks! Of course. I mean, whaddaya gonna do? We spent an hour there, then left and made a booze run at the grocery store, then went back to the house to meet up with Calvin (he had to work Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday of this week). We draped ourselves all over the couches and relaxed and sipped and gabbed (I love Bailey’s on the rocks), then she departed. THEN Calvin and I went to Patsy Grimaldi’s (home of the Best Pizza in the Universe!) for dinner, and spent the rest of the evening in a VERY warm and fuzzy fashion.

Yep. Tuesday was a good day.

Marie and I went to Kona Grill for lunch yesterday and got caught up. We haven’t done that in a long time, just the two of us gabbing over sushi. I hope 2009 is better to her than ’08 was – little girl desperately needs a job. After we parted company I went to the grocery store to get supplies for the traditional New Year’s Day Over-Eating Extravaganza. I cooked the chicken breasts for my sister-in-law’s Buffalo Chicken Dip recipe (I’ll have to ask her if I can post that), and made my Grandmother’s Triple Top Secret Potato Salad. Then I wrote the entry over at WFN for said recipe (seriously – it’s a labor of love, but SO WORTH IT). Calvin and I decided to just stay home last night, instead of going out to any festivities. We just got too darned comfy on the couch, and “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” was on! And then “Ocean’s Thirteen”. And we had leftover pizza from Grimaldi’s. And tequila.

Wednesday was a good day, too.

Today we’re just going to loll around in our robes and eat our fool heads off. For me, it’s the last day of indulgence before I get my ass in gear and get healthy. Which isn’t to say that I won’t indulge at all anymore – I don’t have that kind of willpower. But today! Oh, today. There is the Buffalo Chicken Dip in my future, and the potato salad, and stuffed mushrooms, and bacon wrapped water chestnuts (recipe forthcoming on WFN), and baby turkey and roast beef sandwiches on potato rolls, and crackers with port wine cheese, and whatever the hell else is in the fridge and the cupboards.

Yep. We’re starting the new year off with a bang! Hope everyone is having a most excellent holiday. I’m out, be good until I get back!