Hell. Road. Good intentions. Whatnot.

Posted: December 20, 2010 in Home, movies, vacation, Your Opinion Matters
Tags: , , ,

I’m off work this week (AcronymCo, that is), which of course means I have a honey-do list (self-imposed, that is) a mile long. The very first order of business, though, is to venture forth and purchase a new coffee pot. I broke the carafe last night while getting the coffee ready for the morning, and as anyone who has ever done the same thing knows, it’s just easier to buy a whole new coffee pot than try to track down a replacement carafe.

I recall promising Bill that I’d get up with him and run out to the nearby Dunkin Donuts to procure some coffee for him to have with his morning paper (he’s as routine-oriented about his morning cup as I am), but what I DON’T recall is the alarm going off this morning. I woke up when he kissed me goodbye. Ah, well. Hell. Road. Good intentions. Whatnot.

I got up at 6:45, brewed a cup of tea and toasted some rye, and spent the next hour-ish balancing the checkbook and doing a spot of financial planning for the new year. I always approach such tasks with dread, and then feel a sense of relief and accomplishment when it’s over. Stupendously enough, we’re still in the black and didn’t put ANY of our Christmas on credit cards. Go us! That’s a first, I’m pretty sure.

On deck: doodie duty. And major, epic grocery shopping. And wrapping Bill’s presents – I got the kids’ out of the way yesterday. And folding laundry before it gets too far ahead of me. Clearly, I know how to LIVE IT UP when I’m on vacation.

As an aside, how many of you have seen the original True Grit, the one with John Wayne? When I expressed interest in seeing the remake in theaters, Bill waxed enthusiastic and said we’d have to watch the original first. Make a day of it – watch the original at home (I bought it from Amazon, should be here any day now), go have lunch, watch the new one at the nearby AMC. Sounds like fun to me.

As an additional aside, we watched “The A Team” this weekend – twice. I was a HU-YOOGE fan of the TV show when I was little. I don’t know why, but I was completely and thoroughly entertained by this movie. I mean, utterly. Especially by the cameo appearances by the original “Face” and the original “Murdock” at the very end. The VERY end, after the credits – the brief clips that only the die-hard theater-goers (or at-home fast-forwarders) get to see. I’ve taken to fast forwarding past all the credits in every movie we watch, now, just in case there’s an extra tidbit at the end.

Do you guys do that, too?

Comments
  1. crisi-tunity says:

    First, I have to ask: WHY aren’t replacement carafes more regularly available? Why? It took me a lot of work to find a replacement for one of those professional-grade carafes, from BUNN, when one was needed at my old job. But they do break. Why can they not make replacements more available?

    And as a side note, why not go to a thrift store and find a used coffeemaker, throw out the maker and keep the carafe? Just a thought about how to save a few bucks.

    Also, yes, BF and I also sit in the theater/fast forward to the end of most movies’ credits just to be sure. Usually the stingers make it all worthwhile.

    • Tiffany says:

      Meh, in the end I bought a new one for $30. No biggie. I do think it’s a vast conspiracy that individual carafes are so rare.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! On a related note, I can’t wait for the next Iron Man!

  2. Heather says:

    I’ve seen the original True Grit many times and loved it. Now that I think about it…I inherited a copy of the film. John Wayne was a favorite of Mom’s and I grew to love his movies (and so many other of her favorite classics) too.

  3. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Do you feel a sense of accomplishment with all you’ve completed? If so, I’d worry about “vacation” a little less. Getting caught up on the honey-do list is always important.

Leave a Reply

