Our dinner in two-and-a-half weeks.

Posted: December 9, 2010 in Food, Holiday
Tags: ,

For those of you who care.

I decided upon the prime rib, and I’m not gonna lie to you, Marge(*), that shit is EXPENSIVE. Like, $18.99 per pound, expensive (damn AJ’s anyway… but they DO have the best meat). And a four-rib roast is 10-12 pounds. So. Yeah. You do the math. This “counts” as a Christmas present, though, this dinner that we do. Which is why it tends to be lobster or prime-rib expensive.

As a point of interest, I just ran a quote through Maine Lobster Direct’s website, and a half-dozen “large” lobsters (around 1.65 pounds each) would have run us a tad over $160.

Anyway! I’ll probably make mashed potatoes to go with it, though I do love Pioneer Woman’s Crash Hot Potatoes. But I’m too lazy to do both, and Bill likes to dump gravy on stuff, so mashed it is. Maybe I’ll add bacon and cheddar and chives and make loaded mashed.

This is fascinating stuff, isn’t it? Onward!

I’ll probably steam up some asparagus for the veggie, and make either these bacon onion cheddar biscuits, or these cheddar biscuits ala Red Lobster (Bill loves those).

We will, of course, have baked potato soup. It’s tradition.

The family isn’t much into sweets or desserts, but Robert would KEEL ME DED if I didn’t make at least one batch of Magic Cookie Bars. I’ll probably make a batch of Irish Cream Brownies, too. I seem to recall Bill really liking the Walnut Chews I made a few years ago, so maybe those will make an appearance as well.

It all really depends on just how much cooking I feel like doing that week. This weekend I need to make a batch of Killer Fudge to hand out to my co-workers next week (I’m off the week after). I’m the favorite because I do food instead of Christmas cards. Heh.

So. That’s the menu. Who’s comin’ over?

(* Totally stolen from Wil.)

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I’m having dinner at my house for Jina and myself. Not sure if or how many others will show throughout the day, we’ll see!

  2. Amanda says:

    Mmmm, sounds divine!

  3. I make prime rib for New Year’s Day now. It’s so good! But I hear you, it’s expensive! And because of it, I can’t eat lesser cuts of meat anymore. I’d never seen PW’s Crash Hot Potatoes before but now I’m going to have to make those to go with the prime rib. Thanks Tiffany!

    • Tiffany says:

      Oh, we can eat lesser cuts of meat. Bill does amazing things with marinade. And it’s a good thing to, because we’re near to being carnivores. ­čśÇ

Leave a Reply

