I refuse to title this entry, “Baby, it’s cold outside.”

Posted: November 29, 2010 in Home, misc, pets
Tags:

Since coming home from Thanksgiving dinner at Bill’s sister’s house, the truck sat unused in the garage until today. Until I went out there this morning, on a theory, and tried to start it. And was summarily denied. So I hooked up the battery charger. There’s something about popping the hood, clamping red to red, and black to black, that makes me feel very manly and accomplished.

There goes my yoga and grocery shopping and post office plans. Frozen burger meat will magically reappear on tonight’s dinner plates as meatloaf. My go-to, “Shit, there ain’t nuthin’ in the house to cook!” meal. And my yoga class will be replaced with a DVD. My back, neck, and shoulders are SCREAMING for some good, therapeutic stretching. I haven’t been able to sleep well, for several nights running, for the pain. The post office will still be there at lunch tomorrow, though I hate going at lunch time for the lines. Ah, well, has to be done.

The cats are putting up quite the protest this morning. Since cleaning the HELL out of the bedroom last weekend, they have not been allowed back in. If you’d seen the sheer amount of dust and cat hair that I removed from the room, you’d understand. It was even stuck to the walls, people. So, since I’ve been having a hard time with my asthma lately (always happens when the weather turns cold), I figured I’d give my lungs a break and try to keep the room allergen-free for a while. But, see, it is actually FRICKIN’ cold outside, and the cats can’t understand why they are no longer allowed to sleep with us, in comforter-and-body-heated warmth, at night. Right this second, Oz is yelling at the bedroom door, and Zoe is querying at the bathroom door, and every now and then a handle rattles. Because they’re used to hanging out on the bed during the days that I work from home.

Apparently, they’re more routine oriented than I am. And that’s saying a lot.

Gadget and Gypsy aren’t minding the cold, though. They get to come in at night and sleep in their cozy, pillow-lined crate. During the day, the move from sunlit spot to sunlit spot out in the back yard. They’re hanging out in their crate right now, because it turned windy on us today. Right at this moment it’s 36(f), and nobody in Arizona has even heard of wind chill. According to this calculator, it’s actually either 21 or 28 degrees, depending on if you go by the “old” calculation or the “new” calculation.

Either way, my traditional Monday morning pre-landscaper doodie duty is going to SUCK worse than usual.

Comments
  1. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Sadly, clean-up duty of the doodie is easier when it’s frozen or mostly frozen. Yes, it’s cold outside. Yes, your fingers will be frozen from being out there, but clean-up will actually be a breeze in comparison.

    It’s cold here too and has been freezing at night. After feeling flu-ish all of Saturday, I just HAD to go out and spend some time with my horses at midnight, in the cold, without a jacket. Because, you know, pony therapy is good for what ails you. And they don’t care what time of day it is because they don’t sleep much anyways. I’m pretty

  2. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Ack! Can you edit for me? I don’t know what my computer did just as I was trying to delete the last paragraph when it went all blog post-y sounding.

    • Tiffany says:

      Hee! I will not edit it. I’m glad it ended with, “I’m pretty.”

      I MISS HAVING HORSES. Spending time with them at midnight with no coat on would be JUST the thing I would do. Therapy of the best kind, hands down.

  3. Oregon Sunshine says:

    You’re always welcome to come visit mine!

  4. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Better yet, tell Bill to buy you a pony!

    I chose a horse over a diamond when BP and I got engaged.

  5. Oregon Sunshine says:

    What do you consider atrocious? I can quote you boarding fees ITP Atlanta (inside the perimeter) and outside that make my hair curl. As stressful as our landlord situation is, I’m glad to have my two at home. But, I miss the camaraderie and indoor arena. Indoors are not common here either.

    • Tiffany says:

      $600+ a MONTH. For an in-and-out stall, no indoor arena, and every-other-day turn-out. SHEESH. I paid $250 a month back in Maine (albeit I did work off some of that board, but regular board was $400), had a 15×15 stall, daily turn-out, an indoor arena, an outdoor arena, and a jumping field.

  6. Oregon Sunshine says:

    ITP Atlanta (inside the perimeter) is about $1200 a month. Outside is averaging $500-$600 a month, less if you go farther out. Indoor arenas are rare here and outdoors are common. I’m about 10 miles ITP and lucky to have mine at home. However, we’re looking to move even farther out and still keep them at home in about 6 months. Also, my paddock is the size of an arena, so that was sheer dumb luck.

    • Tiffany says:

      HOLY SHIT. $1200 a MONTH???? That’s, like, a few hundred bucks shy of our MORTGAGE. Also, can’t you guys just, like, throw a stick at the fence to see if it’s hot? 😀

      • Oregon Sunshine says:

        I mean we’re a few miles OUTSIDE the perimeter, not inside it. So we’re OTP, but barely by about 7 miles.

        Really, until I found this place, so near the airport, I was considering selling my Casey because of the cost of board ITP. I am so glad BP talked me out of it! And I prefer to have my horses at home because I’m anal about their feed and turn out. Plus, nothing is better than looking out a window at my grazing horses!

        • Tiffany says:

          You’re so fortunate! It was always my dream, growing up, to be able to look out my bedroom window and see my horses grazing in my fields. It was a hard, HARD dream to give up. Sigh.

  7. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Nah! Don’t give it up! You can still make it happen!

Leave a Reply

