Figuring out Thanksgiving

Posted: November 15, 2010 in Holiday
Tags:

I’m trying to figure out Thanksgiving. Robert and Amanda “probably/kind of/maybe/I don’t know” have plans with their mom, or with the families of their significant others. Bill’s sister hasn’t returned my call yet to let me know if anything is going on with Bill’s side of the family, but the last time I mentioned it to her she didn’t have any ideas for plans. I figured we’d all get together and have Thanksgiving with Grandmother Claudine, especially since this is the first holiday without Grandpa Ed. But it seems she might be heading to the Carolinas to visit with her sisters.

As long-time readers are aware, I tend to plan Thanksgiving out completely within the first week of November – sometimes even before that. This year, Thanksgiving is next week and I’m plan-less.

Then I got to thinking, what if I DON’T PLAN THANKSGIVING. I mean, entirely. What if I don’t cook a turkey, mashed potatoes, pies, the whole shebang? Especially if the kids have other plans, what if I just… skip Thanksgiving? Bill is anti-leftovers and isn’t that big of a fan of turkey. He’s not a dessert guy, either. So I’d put all this effort into a big meal, of which one plateful would be consumed in under fifteen minutes, and then my refrigerator would be packed with leftovers that we wouldn’t eat.

So what if next Thursday comes and goes, and we just have a normal, run-of-the-mill Thursday night dinner?

It’s a fascinating thought. I mean, screw it. I’m not going to force an assload of food onto people that don’t want it/won’t eat it/don’t care.

We can be thankful without a turkey. Seriously. When did overgrown fowl become an integral part of gratitude for the blessings in our lives?

Yeah. Screw it.

Comments
  1. sherry says:

    You could do a smaller scale if you want. This year my MIL didn’t do a turkey and she’s just doing one for Christmas. She did a roast chicken and it was delicious.

    You could do that or even roast chicken breasts and a couple of small sides and it will almost feel traditional without excessive work or waste.

  2. crisi-tunity says:

    I deeply wish I could do this for the majority of Thanksgivings. I don’t like turkey either and just don’t feel the big family to-do.

  3. Jen says:

    get some turkey breasts or legs, make those along with some mashed potatoes and whatever your other favorite side is.

    Last year, because we had just barely gotten home from the hospital, Bobby did that for just him and I. It made me really happy that he was able to do that for us.

    Okay, and now I’m crying. I really hope this thanksgiving goes well enough that I can stop feeling like crap and crying every time I think too hard about it.

  4. lynn says:

    Last year my daughter was in California with her boyfirend’s family. My son doesn’t like traditional Thanksgiving. My husband, son, and I went to a Chinese restaurant. My son’s favorite type of food. No mess, no prep, no cleanup. This year my parents are coming and everyone is home so we will have traditional. Nice break last year though. The Chinese restaurant was actually quite full of people. I say enjoy the holiday off!

  5. Oregon Sunshine says:

    There isn’t a law saying you have to have turkey. Have chicken, or cornish game hen, or steak, or pork tenderloin (I have a great, easy, kinda Thanksgiving festive recipe if you want it). I’m considering it here, since it will be just BP, Dude and I. But BP wants turkey and left overs and the whole shebang. Also, he will help with the cooking or do it all if I want (NOT! I’ve been in control of the turkey every year since we’ve been together).

  6. Heather says:

    I skipped it last year and me and my twin friends, Rocky & Willy, went out to eat. Know what? The world did not stop on it’s axis as a result. 😀

  7. Also, a lot of restaurants have a turkey dinner option, so if you wanted to have a turkey dinner but without all the planning and clean-up, you could always order that. And then Bill can order whatever he wants, since he’s not a big turkey guy.

    • Oregon Sunshine says:

      Oooh! And so do grocery stores! Many times you can order the whole she-bang ahead of time, pick it up, heat a little and then voila! Dinner!

  8. Tiffany says:

    Wow! Lots of opinions on this one! Turns out I’m just making a bunch of pies, and we’re headed to Bill’s sisters for a low-key event. I’m keeping all of your suggestions in mind for next year! Or heck, it applies to Christmas, too…

Leave a Reply

