Things I Love – The Necklace

Posted: November 12, 2010 in best things, Friends
Tags: , , , ,

Heather and I share a “Bad Anniversary” – that of the death of her mother, and the death of my grandmother. They both passed away at about the same time, in the same year, and it was one of the shared life experiences that helped us bond as friends. So, each year we commiserate with one another, usually with phone calls and “Thinking of you!” e-mails.

This year, though, she went above and beyond the call of friendship. She gave me a head’s up to expect a package in the mail, but didn’t tell me what it was. So, it was waiting for me in my mailbox when I checked it before work one morning. I sat in the idling car, and opened up the package. I saw… a domino on a chain. Puzzled, I didn’t inspect the package, but went for the card that Heather had enclosed. She mentioned that the picture of my grandmother had always been one of her favorites (this one). I had a, “Huh?” moment, then pulled the necklace out of its little package. It spun around, and I saw the picture of Grandma.

I’ve never smiled and cried all together in an instant, before. It was a unique experience. Now, every time I wear the necklace (which is most days), it completely warms my heart that I have such a beloved, thoughtful friend in Heather. She made that necklace, and I LOVE hand-made gifts. I just think they have so much more meaning than anything bought in a store. Which sucks for MY friends, because I have no crafty talent to speak of. I DO love you guys, though.

Anyway, now I can carry my Grandma’s picture around with me wherever I go, which Heather knew I would LOVE. I thanked her before, but I’ll thank her again. Heather, you are so wonderful! Thank you so much. I am truly, entirely blessed to have you in my life.

Comments
  1. crisi-tunity says:

    What an incredible gift. I thank Heather for making you so happy.

  2. Oregon Sunshine says:

    How thoughtful! What a wonderful gift!

  3. What an amazing gift! It is a great picture too, like she’s thinking of some secret, happy moment.

  4. Heather says:

    I love you too, punkin! I’m sorry you cried but it does make me remember…”I WIN Christmas!”. 😀

    Grammy was one of the first of those pendants I’d attempted to make along with one of my Mom. I’m actually much better at them now, but those two will always be special because I just felt like I HAD to make them.

    Here’s my little mama: http://www.flickr.com/photos/iamheather/5127082557/

  5. Kami-O says:

    Heatherjo u are awesome! Who would have thought to do that…?
    Tiff I’m glad someone was able to give u a gift that u’ll absolutely love! sorry u credi though too, but hopefully mostly “happy tears”!

    LU guys!

  6. sherry says:

    What an incredible gift. 🙂

    I think of your grandmother every week – I watch “Blue Bloods” with Tom Selleck and it’s both funny and awesome that every week I think of a woman I never met, and her paintings of him.

  7. dawn says:

    Good lord, I can’t remember seeing this younger pic of your Grammy before now, but damn, you can TOTALLY see the family resemblance! What a great gift!

  8. Taoist Biker says:

    Frickin’ AWWWWWWWW. That is SO AWESOME!!

  9. […] I wrote some entries about some of the things I love: […]

Leave a Reply

