Routine Sunday is Routine

Posted: November 7, 2010 in weekend
Tags: , , ,

Of any day of the week, Sundays turn out to be the ones that are the most consistent. This is how it goes most of the time:

Wake up, start the coffee, feed the cats, feed the lizards. Coffee in hand, boot up the computer and peruse my feed reader, e-mail, Twitter, Facebook. Then buckle down and start writing articles. About an hour later, go rustle Bill out of bed so he doesn’t sleep the morning away, and I start the first load of laundry. He reads his paper while I write, then about lunchtime we decide there isn’t anything appetizing in the house, so we get cleaned up, get on the motorcycle, and search out burgers and football. Hang for a while (today it was Jersey’s), then head back home and watch more football in the bedroom. Watching football has become a euphemism, and is also literal. Then, move it back out to the living room, switch loads of laundry. I write some more, Bill surfs the web, more football (DAMMIT, Cardinals!). I finish up my assignments and start puttering around in the kitchen (tonight’s dinner is potato leek soup and wedge salads). More laundry switching. Bill kicks in with the night chores (feed the dogs, feed the cats, get the coffee ready and on the timer for the morning). We have dinner, watch whatever TV is on or is DVR’d, and I put the last load of laundry in the dryer. We head to bed at around 10:30.

A nice mixture of useful activities and fun activities.

At this moment in time I have one more article to write, then I’m going to get on the never-ending process of crisp-cooking an entire pound of bacon. Hope you guys are having a great Sunday!

Comments
  1. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Quick tip for crisp cooking bacon. Bake it! Seriously, it comes out straight and mostly flat, cooks in 8-10 minutes when you bake it at 400 degrees and if you cover your baking sheet with tin foil, it’s a breeze to clean up once the trays have cooled. It’s my fav way of cooking bacon.

  2. Oregon Sunshine says:

    I made Bouef Bourguignon but I didn’t have the bacon for it since I forgot to pull some out of the freezer and defrost it.

    Baking bacon became my very favorite time saver, and bacon saver because I tend to burn it. Also, it’s easier to blot most of the grease off of if it’s flat.

    Maple bacon might be good if it were a potato and cheese soup…

Leave a Reply

