Monday Meta

Posted: October 4, 2010 in Arizona, Friends, photography, vacation, work

– I haven’t been writing here as much as I’d like. The reason? I’ve been busy. Verra, verra busy.

– We are officially OVER the 100+ degree temps in Arizona and are headed, finally, into autumn. Today’s high is 93 with a good chance of thunderstorms – one of which is brewing outside of my window as I type this. Tomorrow’s high is 88 with more storms. The highest it’s going to get over the next ten days is 92, which I am more than capable of dealing with. Thank you, October.

– I had a photography gig at the home of one of my co-workers on Saturday. She hired me to photograph her daughter and her daughter’s two best friends, for a full-page spread in their yearbook. I was a little nervous at first, but once we got going we had a great time. Two hours and four outfit changes later, I left with over two hundred photos to post-process. I was very pleased with a lot of them. I’ll share them with you on my Flickr account after my client has seen them, but for a Double Secret Probation Unauthorized Preview, go here.

– If you had to decide between a vacation to Washington DC to explore the Smithsonian, a long weekend in Monterey, or a road trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway, which one would you choose and why?

– Work this week is going to suck ass. Because I was off for a day and a half last week, and because I’ll be in training Tuesday through Thursday of this week, today’s workload was challenging to say the least. The aforementioned training is to acquire my Lean Six Sigma Green Belt. We Must! We Must! We Must Increase Our Bust! Reduce Waste and Variation! I’ll be at the “other” AcronymCo campus, which of course throws off my routine. I HATE being thrown off my routine. We’ll also be required to shut down our laptops and pay attention (dammit), so blog reading and tweeting and e-mailing will be relegated to an hour-long frenzy at lunchtime.

Kim and her family suffered a horrible loss over the weekend. Dear Kim, when you get a chance to read this, please know that Bill and I extend our heartfelt sorrow and are keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers.

Comments
  1. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Personally, I’d pick the Blue Ridge Highway. A bit of leaf-peeping, seeing a couple states I haven’t been to yet, some history and time to relax for myself. (Bad Pants insists on driving, always). I *think* I’m ready for another long-@ss drive. I think I’m recovered from the last one. But, that’s just me.

    Monterrey, eh. Heat and sun, you already have that! Unless you’re jones-ing for the ocean. The Smithsonian will still be there later. Unless you want to cram your head full of info, it can wait too. After this week, it sounds like you just need to relax! So, let Bill drive!

    Your sneak preview is just lovely! I can’t wait to see more.

    • Tiffany says:

      Okay, so Blue Ridge is on deck for next fall. I don’t think we’ve ever had to recover from a road trip before we were ready for the next one, but YMMV. Pun intended.

      HAR.

  2. Starr says:

    If you do the BRP, do it soon. The leaves are changing quickly here in old Virginny. Otherwise, the Parkway’s pretty unremarkable after the leaves are gone. And in some places they just flat out close it due to ice, snow or fog. I’d go for the Smithsonian but that’s just ’cause I love DC!

    • Dawn says:

      Blue! Ridge! Definitely! Quick, while the leaves are still all purty.

      Also: I owe you a LONG catch-up email (not to be confused with the “ketchup” kind), which will be arriving in the next coupla days. Miss you, chica!

      • Tiffany says:

        Starr – we won’t be able to swing it this fall, so next fall it is! Smithsonian is our second choice, only because Monterey is so close to us (an hour flight).

        Dawn – e-mail received, DUDE you need to start up your blog again.

  3. crisi-tunity says:

    Monterey. I’ve done the DC thing and I love California.

    • Tiffany says:

      We did Monterey during our “honeymoon” (quote included because Amanda was with us so it was more of a family vacation). We’ve been dying to get back there ever since.

  4. Jean says:

    Monterrey without a doubt. There’s a tiny little piece of me that is in place when I’m near the ocean. Fall colors? Beautiful but – eh – I can look at a good calender and see them. Wash DC and the Smithsonians? Love them, but you need WAY more than a couple of days to do them right.

    Ocean Ocean Ocean. And seafood. Mmmmmmm.

  5. Jeanette says:

    Wow! Tough choice but I think I would go with the Smithsonian…only because I’ve never been there and am dying to go!

    • Tiffany says:

      Me, too. Even though there are like sixTEEN museums that make up The Smithsonian, so we’d need at least two weeks to do them justice. It’s like the American version of the Louvre.

  6. dyskinesia says:

    Which would I do… Yes. 🙂

    I’ve not been to Monterey myself, though I never pass up an ocean trip.

    The BRP is gorgeous, have been through a bit, but not enough to say I’ve ‘done’ it. Personally, I think I’d rather spend a few days just doing day hikes in the area more than to actually drive it at this point. Of course, I’d also like to have the knees to make that an option, but that isn’t the point here. As mentioned, unless you’re planning to do it ASAFP (or next year), might not be the choice for right now. The leaves there don’t mess around, and you want to hit them at the right moment.

    I’ve also not been to the Smithsonian, but have been to DC. I love DC. The traffic notsomuch, but the rest, absolutely. The nerd in me wins out just at this moment and has to say Smithsonian just because it is so *many* different things to discover. Jean is right though, if you’re talking a couple of days, you’ll maybe get through 2 of them – if you’re hauling @$$.

    🙂 (…and now I want to go hiking!)

    • Tiffany says:

      Yeah, I know. They’re all on deck but we have to prioritize due to budgetary reasons. Monterey is awesome, and the Aquarium is AWESOME. We’d want to do the BRP from end to end, but stop in various places (like the Grove Park Inn). And DC is on the bucket list. GAH. So many destinations, so little MONEY. Bill and I have been talking about how if we won the lottery, we’d follow the Moto GP circuit for an entire year. Wouldn’t that be the BOMB???

  7. […] those same meetings scheduled for next week, too, but on top of that I have the second half of my Six Sigma Green Belt training next Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, eight to five. Which translates to not getting any […]

  8. […] I worked with my friend Karen’s daughter and her friends back in October, I found that I really enjoyed the experience. I think my niche just might be that sort of […]

Leave a Reply

