Essure Follow-Up

Posted: October 3, 2010 in Health/Fitness
Tags: ,

Gentlemen readers, you may want to step away today.

I had the Essure follow-up appointment on Thursday, called an HSG. It was unpleasant, but not unbearable. All told I think I spent longer waiting in the lobby than it actually took to complete the procedure. I stripped from the waist down, spent a good five minutes trying to figure out how to put on the gown (open at the front? back? why are there ties on the inside?), and was lead to a procedure room. I laid down on the x-ray table and they took a couple of images – I was told point blank, “Stop breathing,” which made me snort on the inside and twitch such that I was given the Evil Eye by the nurse. Then the Speculum of Truth came out, and I was instructed to prop my heels up on the corners of the table. The doctor started talking to me about his kids, which I immediately tuned out, opting to instead head to my Happy Place (I thank and credit Pranayama profusely). He cleansed the cervix with some betadine and fed a catheter up inside me. He warned me that I would feel some cramping “similar to menstrual cramps, not that I would know”.

Yeah. A BIT.

He inflated… something, and injected die up into my insides. The cramping was painful, and deeper than what I experience during my girly days. It actually made me a bit light headed and nauseous. The doctor pointed out stuff on the live image – where the Essure coils were placed, where the die was. He had me tip up on my left hip, then my right, as he captured more images. He told me to brace for one more surge of die, which kicked up the cramps and pressure a few notches, then he removed everything and told me to stay lying down until the cramps, nausea and light-headedness passed.

It only took a few moments, after everything had been removed, for me to feel much better. I asked him how the images looked, and he called up a few to show to me. One coil is placed perfectly, the other coil isn’t placed as well as they would like, but shouldn’t cause problems and is still serving to block the tube. No die got past where it was supposed to go, so it looks like the procedure was a success. I’ll have a follow-up with my doctor next week sometime, and that should be it.

I bled that day (quite a bit, actually) and the next, but was back to normal by Saturday. I took things easy for the remainder of Thursday, but was fine for normal activities by Friday.

All in all the whole process was no fun, but I’m glad I did it, and I’m glad it’s over with. If anybody has any specific questions, I’d be happy to answer them either in the comments or via e-mail.

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    I go for mine on the 13th. Yee and Haw. 😉

  2. It’s always troubling when your doctor gives the command: “Stop breathing.”

  3. crisi-tunity says:

    That sounds like no fun, and I’m sorry, but I’m glad it’s over, and yay! Occluded! Thanks for keeping us-all posted.

  4. […] about Tiff’s experience with the procedure please click HERE and about her follow-up test HERE.  She had the same procedure but performed a little differently than […]

Leave a Reply

