Wax ecstatic

Posted: September 3, 2010 in best things, Inner Geek, photography
Tags: ,

So, those of you who follow me at Beyond Megapixels or on my Flickr feed may have come to the realization that I received a new toy on Wednesday. That toy being a Canon 7D with the 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS kit lens. I really didn’t think I’d be able to get one for several more months, but fate shined upon me and planets aligned and the heavens opened up and lo, I am possessed of one BITCHIN’ camera.

My extreme level of geekitude is such that Bill is starting to get annoyed. I’ve been sitting on my side of the couch, fiddling and pressing buttons and taking experimental shots, all the while hooting and chortling and cackling like a magpie. It’s… just… so COOL. I’m starting to suspect that this is one camera that will bring truth to the table when folks say to me, “Your camera takes such nice pictures.” I mean, normally a photographer gets annoyed when someone says that to them – the thought being that it’s the photographer, not the camera itself, that takes nice pictures. In this case, though… well. Yeah.

I am very, VERY fond of my Digital Rebel XTi. It was a fantastic camera to start with, when I first ventured into D-SLR. I learned, well, everything on it. Aperture and exposure, HDR and bulb shots, composition and flash compensation, white balance and bokeh. The XTi is going to make a great backup body, because it’s one quality camera in and of itself. I’ve just learned as much as I’m going to on it, and gone as far as I’m going to with it. After three and a half years, it’s time to step up to the next level.

This next part here may only be interesting to fellow photography geeks. If you’re in the market for a new D-SLR, allow me to convince you of this purchase:

– 18 megapixels (my XTi has 10)
– 8 frames per second (XTi does 4)
– 3-inch LCD with Live View (XTi has a 2.5 inch screen, no live view)
– HD video (XTi has no video capabilities)
– 19 point auto-focus (XTi has 9 point AF)
– Intelligent Viewfinder with 100% field of view (not offered on the XTi)
– On-the-fly switching between RAW and JPEG (XTi’s switch is buried in menus)
– ISO up to 6400, expandable up to 12,800 (XTi goes to 1600)
– Dual Axis Electronic Level that displays the roll and pitch of the camera in 1-degree increments, through either the viewfinder or LCD. You can’t IMAGINE how geeked I was to find that particular feature. (Goes without saying, the XTi ain’t got none of that.)
– 63 zone dual-layer lighting sensor with color management functionality, which takes into account the color and luminosity surrounding the chosen AF points. What this basically means is that this camera will take KICK ASS correctly-exposed shots in low-light situations (which I find myself in frequently), without needing the flash. (XTi ain’t got this, either.)
– An Integrated Speedlite Transmitter which allows the camera to control multiple off-camera speedlites (flashes). Previous to this a separate transmitter was required. (Not offered on the XTi.)
– Automatic flash exposure compensation, which controls the power of the built-in pop-up flash to correctly expose the shot. (XTi requires fiddling with a less-than-stellar flash compensation manually – again, buried in menus.)

Essentially, this is a beast of a camera that is going to open up a whole new realm of photographic possibilities for me – creatively, professionally, personally. I am verra, verra excited. I can already see the difference in the handful of shots I’ve taken (the animals, natch), just using Program mode.

You guys are going to be INUNDATED.

(Here is a GREAT review of the 7D from The Digital Picture. This is my go-to source for reviews on cameras, lenses, and photography equipment.)

Comments
  1. Oregon Sunshine says:

    I understand none of the photography geek-ese. I wish I did. I am happy that you are happy.

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    YAY for your new toy!!!! How exciting!!! I understand a lot of the photography geek-ese but …I’m still in love with Nikon! ­čśÇ

  3. dyskinesia says:

    Woooo! Ex-cite-MENT! My Nikon is right in between the two on those first several stats … then you went off into G33Kdom and my eyes glazed over, and then of course all I could think of was donuts. ­čśÇ

    CONGRATS!

  4. Bill says:

    Dual Axis Electronic 63 zone dual-layer luminosity surrounding Integrated Speedlite Transmitter with a tacheon pulse on the backside!
    This should be a fun weekend listening to rainwomen gush over her new toy:)

Leave a Reply

