Anniversaries

Posted: August 17, 2010 in Memory Lane

I just realized that today would have been my nineteenth wedding anniversary, had I stayed with my crazy, psychotic ex. That’s just… weird. I’m taking bets on whether or not I hear from him within the next 24-hours. After all, he was right on schedule last year.

(New readers, if you’d like to read the whole sordid tale, here’s part one, part two, part three, part four, part five, part six, part seven, and epilogue. Keep in mind I was still using nom-de-nets back then.)

On a sadder note, tomorrow marks the ninth year since Grandma’s passing. I still miss her a great deal, but you know? I gained so MUCH comfort from staying at her house for just the couple of days we were there in July. Really, it’s like the missing her is still there, but it has sweetened to fondness and nostalgia, and isn’t as painful as it once was. To be sure, I have my moments where missing her grips my heart tight, and I tear up a little. But mostly she’s the angel on my shoulder – I feel her presence, her love, and her personality in all kinds of little ways throughout my day.

I’m going back to Maine next spring, for my cousin’s baby shower, and also to spend four or five days at Grandma’s house, scanning all the old family pictures for preservation purposes. I’ll write more about it when I get to that installment of the Maine vacation recap. For now, I’ll just say that she was beautiful, and so very young, and I feel her near me now more than ever.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Wow. You got married the same year I started dating my ex – you know, the relationship that I sometimes felt lasted forever, and yet that one was over and I’ve been with Dys almost fifteen years now…

    That story is still head-shakingly confounding to me. Eesh. Hopefully you can stay off the loony radar for one year.

  2. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Thank you for sharing the whole story. I don’t feel quite so alone now.

    I’m very sorry he busted up your tack box. I saw the message in it loud and clear. You are ever so much better off and away from him and his wacko family.

    I quit counting time and years with my wacko exs’. Well, except the date of my divorce from The Marine. That date lives in infamy simply because of what it is- 9/11/2001.

    • Tiffany says:

      I’m sorry you EVER felt alone! We’re always here for you!!!

      Yeah, that whole tack box thing was typical of him. Dude’s a nutjob and I AM much better off. Just ask Bill. Ha.

      Wow, that date would be a tough one to forget, huh? Brr.

      • Oregon Sunshine says:

        I felt alone, well, before the powers of the internet became apparent. I’m only a year younger than you, plus a few months probably.

        I think The Marine gave away my tack box that was like yours but painted blue. My mother made it for me.

        Yes, that date is hard to forget. I also had surgery that day. It was one heck of a doozy of a day for me.

  3. Bill says:

    Sorry mama but all you did was trade one nutjob for a different kinda nutjob. 🙂
    Oh and next time I ask why your in a “mood” I will try to remember this date hell I thought it was just PMS.

  4. Poppy says:

    Wow. I told my ex to never “talk to me that way again” about 2 years ago and we’ve never talked since.

    I always feel anxiety and sadness on the date, even if I’m having the most amazing time (I always seem to have something awesome scheduled that day).

    Today would have been our 10th if I’d stayed.

    Sorry about your grandmother. I haven’t lost mine yet so I can’t empathize, but I feel sadness for you.

  5. Poppy says:

    Oops, not today, but this year would have been our 10th.

  6. angelcel says:

    Gird your loins, from what you’ve said about him, I suspect contact is imminent!

  7. iamheatherjo says:

    Just thinking about you today, love.

Leave a Reply

