Maine Part Three

Posted: August 9, 2010 in Maine, photography, vacation
Tags: ,

You can see Part One here and Part Two here.

Our plans on Sunday the 18th were to meet my cousin Laurel and her husband Eric for an excursion to the Portland Head Light. Laurel is three years younger than me, and she and I grew up together. She’d spend weeks with me at Grandma’s, and I’d spend weeks with her at Uncle Fred’s. Laurel and Eric got married just a couple of months after Bill and I did. Neither of them had ever been to the PHL, even though they are Maine natives and life-long inhabitants. So, after getting up at a fairly decent hour, Bill and I had a late breakfast in the hotel’s cafe, then went up to Top of the East to sip greyhounds (vodka and grapefruit juice) and wait for Laurel and Eric’s call. I occupied myself with taking yet more shots of the view.

Hazy Portland Harbor

Hazy Portland Harbor

A mansion on High Street

A mansion on High Street

Boat dock thingy on the far side of Portland Harbor.

Boat dock thingy on the far side of Portland Harbor. Love that telephoto lens!

Laurel called to say they’d arrived and parked, so Bill and I went down to the sidewalk to meet them. Hugs and yay’s and happy to see you’s commenced, then we piled into the Camaro (an uncomfortable fit for four adults) and drove over to Cape Elizabeth. Our initial plan was to grab some lunch at the Lobster Shack at Two Lights, but the line was approximately three miles long, out the door and across the rocks. We clambered around on the rocks for a bit, took pictures of the view, checked out the gift shop, and decided to see the PHL and then grab lunch in the Old Port.

Two Lights Point

Two Lights Point

One of the two lights, and a windcatcher.

One of the two lights, and a windcatcher.

It was a beautiful, if hot, sunny day. We actually didn’t spend as much time there as I would have liked – Eric wasn’t wearing the right kind of shoes for rock clambering, and the 90-degree breeze-less day was a bit stifling. So we did the obligatory walk around the light – I paused to chat with a couple of artists selling paintings and photographs of the light and head, but as I have fifty million perspectives of this particular landmark, I didn’t buy anything.

Portland Head Light... again.

Portland Head Light... again.

Eric, Laurel, and me.

Eric, Laurel, and me.

Bill, Eric, and Laurel.  Gabbing.

Bill, Eric, and Laurel. Gabbing.

The PHL.

The PHL.

We then walked away from the light, down toward the rocky coastline and the paths that lead the visitors down toward the waves.

Coast path.

Coast path.

Standing on the rocks, taking pictures of Casco Bay.

Standing on the rocks, taking pictures of Casco Bay.

On the rocks, looking back toward the PHL.

On the rocks, looking back toward the PHL.

After we were done clambering around on the rocks, we headed back up the path toward the light (which is called Fort Williams Park, by the way).

Fort Williams Park.

Fort Williams Park.

A view of the PHL from the walking path.

A view of the PHL from the walking path.

By this time it was going on 2:00 and we were getting pretty darned hungry, so we bailed back to the Old Port, parked, and headed to Bull Feeney’s for lunch. I had an Irish BLT, which features rashers instead of bacon, and it was mighty fine. After lunch we went back up to the hotel and hung out at the Top of the East for some iced tea and, of course, more views.

Portland Harbor at sunset, with the Casco Bay Bridge open to allow a ship to pass.

Portland Harbor at sunset, with the Casco Bay Bridge open to allow a ship to pass.

We hung out in the room for a while, looking at pictures on-line and talking talking talking. Before we knew it, it was 8:30 and Laurel and Eric needed to head home to tend to their animals. Bill and I walked them out, and I learned of the plans that her father (my Uncle Fred) and his girlfriend Simone were making for us for later on in the week. Bill and I then wandered down the street a little ways to Mesa Verde – Maine’s take on Mexican food. It wasn’t half bad, really. Back to the room for a little TV, then crashitude.

Comments
  1. Great shots here! I love the lighthouses. You have captured these well.

  2. Oregon Sunshine says:

    Very nice shots!

    I’m told I’d love Maine. Maybe I’ll have to find out one of these days.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    I don’t know why, but the top picture makes me think of cold weather. A cold cloudy day in late fall instead of a hazy day in midsummer. It must be the color of the sky or something.

    Great shots as always! You know, as long as you have anything to work with. Which bodes poorly for portraiture in a few weeks. 😉

    • Tiffany says:

      It was hazy and a bit overcast. The sky and the sea being the same color tends to give the impression of coolth, until you step outside and BANG! It’s ninety. It was unseasonably warm while we were there, but still not as tortuous as a hundred and fuck.

  4. maryanne says:

    beautiful pictures.. I only live a few hours from Maine. now I really need to make the trip!

  5. […] when I was around ten or twelve, a few shots of me with some childhood friends and with my cousin Laurel, and this […]

Leave a Reply

