Vitamin D

Posted: June 15, 2010 in best things, vacation
Tags:

Did you know that, in order for one to get the recommended daily allowance of Vitamin D, one should spend 10-25 minutes per day in direct sunlight? Fair-skinned folks on the lesser end, darker-skinned folks on the greater end. Which means I should stand in the sun for approximately three minutes per day.

Heh.

A girl could get used to this little routine that I have been enjoying. I get up between 6:30 and 7:00, grab some coffee, and peruse my feed reader. Then I get whatever writing done that I have to do for the day, or pay bills, or what have you. I have some breakfast (this morning it was a fried egg on toasted pumpernickel with a handful of raspberries), then I get into my workout clothes and braid my hair, and get my exercise in for the day. I trade my workout clothes for my bathing suit, grab a towel and a blanket, and lay in the sun for ten minutes. Then I head over to the hot tub, which is currently a cool tub, and the 87-degree water feels like HEAVEN after the 103-degree heat we’re enjoying. I soak for about ten minutes, then lay back out in the sun for another ten minutes. Then back in the cool tub for another few minutes.

Then I head back indoors (today I wanted to stay out longer, it was so nice, but I’m working on my tan slowly, so I won’t go up to a full half-hour until probably the end of next week). Next is shower/clothes/grooming, and lunch (today is a protein shake). Then I do whatever useful thing it is that I have assigned for that day – grocery shopping, or cleaning, or laundry, or errands of some sort. I futz around on the internet or do some other sort of leisurely activity, then it’s time for Bill to come home and we do the evening routine. Hang out, gab, feed the animals, watch TV, make dinner (tonight it’s either grilled chicken, or leftover ribs from last night), hang out some more, then bedtime.

As I was sitting in the hot tub today it occurred to me that maybe yesterday or the day before was the day that I REALLY got into vacation mode. I knew it would take a bit of time to come off of the whole mental structure that was required for a 40+ hour work week. Now I’m nothing but positive. My back feels much better (thanks to everyone who was concerned), I just bought the tickets for the trip to Indy in August, I’ve been poking around on the internet figuring out just what it is, exactly, we want to do with our time in Maine, and I got to talk to Heather a couple of times.

Heaven!

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    What? No, I’m always this shade of green.

  2. crisitunity says:

    I really, really hate you.

    Although I am also happy for you, in a tiny little part of me buried deep down under the envy.

  3. Tiffany says:

    That’s okay, I can hack it.

Leave a Reply

