Two cup morning.

Posted: June 5, 2010 in booze, drrrrrunk, Home, weekend

This is definitely a two-cup-of-coffee kind of morning. After a late night (more on that in a minute), I got up at 7:00 because, well, it’s a rare thing that I can actually sleep in after a night of drinking. I don’t know why that is – you’d think the opposite would apply and I’d stay passed out until noon. The fact that we went to bed at 2:00 a.m. seems to have no effect on my internal clock. When it says it’s time to wake up, well, it’s time and there ain’t fuck-all I can do about it.

Anyway. So, I’m up. After brewing a pot of coffee, I started looking around on the internet for flights to Indianapolis for MotoGP in August (looks like we can both get there for just under $500). We were expecting the exterminator to show up between 10:00 and 12:00 to start in on our termite treatment, but of COURSE the doorbell rings at 8:15. We wanted a quiet morning, and the dudes show up early. Had we had stuff to do that was waiting on them, they wouldn’t have shown up until 12:30. They’ve rung the doorbell about seven times now (“Hi, we’re here! Do you have dogs?” “Hi, can you open the garage door?” “Hi, can you pull the car out?” “Hi, your back yard outlets aren’t working… oh, nevermind!” “Hi, can you move the motorcycle?”). And now they’re going all around the perimeter of our house and drilling holes into the sub-slab, into which they will inject the termite treatment (or whatever). And it’s LOUD. And poor Bill, who is suffering from a skosh of a headache this morning, came stumbling out all bleary-eyed and WTF at all the noise.

So. Yeah. I’m on my second cup of coffee, which is rare for me.

Our friend Ann Marie called us yesterday wanting to hang out. We haven’t seen her in a year (hey, it’s not our fault she keeps moving further away from us and now lives in East Jesus), so it was high time for some socializing. She and her new boyfriend Perry arrived at the house a bit after 8:00, and we all took a cab over to the Sandstone. We sat and listened to Aztex as they performed, and I’ve gotta say I was VERY impressed. I do love a good live band with horns. Ann Marie and Perry danced a few times, and I chair-danced for most of the night. Bill and I sat and watched and cheered and sang and clapped. And drank. And drank. And drank some more. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, the use of a cab for transportation simply encourages bad behavior.

The Sandstone now has a Lobster Claw game (like those claw games where you try to pick up stuffed animals, only with lobsters – if you catch it, they cook it) and the damn thing actually made me feel sorry for the poor lobsters. So far away from home! Inflicted with constant claw harassment, and not that of their kin! It made me want to set the poor little crustaceans free, though once free in the middle of the desert they might find that captivity is preferable.

(As an aside, I said to Bill, “I’m shocked that PETA would allow this!” Then lo and behold, I found this article.)

I’d switched to water earlier in the evening, so I wasn’t too far gone by the time we left. Bill, however, was giggling in the front seat of the cab, so I had to holler directions from my middle seat in the back. Ann Marie and Perry hung out for a little while longer, but everyone was kind of burnt (and Bill was nodding off on the couch) so they left at about 1:30. We crashed out and I had the most fucked up dreams, something about the cat peeing on the coffee pot and me chasing him around with my toothbrush, the recollection of which made me eyeball the coffee pot this morning suspiciously.

So. The only plan for today is to work out, and pick up a rat for Kali. A nap quite possibly might be in order after the chaos subsides. I’ve been wanting to go to the movies (The A Team? Or Ironman 2? Which would you choose?). I do love having nothing in particular that I have to do, and nowhere in particular that I have to go.

Happy Saturday!

Comments
  1. crisitunity says:

    -I can’t sleep in after drinking either. I just wake up feeling like the floor of a taxicab.

    -Alton Brown says not to feel sorry for lobsters because, according to the family tree, they’re just overgrown insects. This has helped me.

    -Iron Man 2.

    • Tiffany says:

      Awesome. And I LOVE it when you guys post videos in the comments. It makes me feel all loved, that you go through the trouble to look it up and post the code. xo

Leave a Reply

