Absorbing

Posted: June 4, 2010 in vacation
Tags:

I left work at 2:00 on the dot, and I must say the send-off was considerably more low-key than the last one was. Last time, my boss at the time took me out to lunch at House of Tricks and then we met all of my co-workers at one co-worker’s house for a team party and sabbatical send-off. Today, Jen and I went to lunch at Kona, and when 2:00 rolled around I just made the circuit of all of my group’s cubicles, said my goodbyes, and exited, stage left.

And then immediately drove to the grocery store and stocked up on beer and tequila. Heh.

Now it’s a bit past three, I’ve put the groceries away, cleaned the kitchen, and am now indulging in a Bridgeport IPA while I contemplate the eight weeks that are ahead of me. They will be busy, to be sure, but will of a busy-ness that I dictate. And I’m liking the hell out of that thought.

We’ll be getting the new roof as soon as the home owner’s association approves our “architectural modification application”. If all goes well and I like the new doctor I’m seeing (more on that debacle in an upcoming entry), I’ll be getting the Essure procedure in late June. And there’s the trip to Maine in July. Other than that I plan on writing, reading, playing with my camera, cleaning the HELL out of this house, and concentrating on my diet and exercise. I’m toying with the idea of joining a local studio that offers Zumba classes – they offer two weeks of unlimited classes (yoga, aerobics, strength training, etc) for $25, and it’s $10 a class otherwise, so it might be worth it to check it out. All I know is, I’m sick as HELL of my elliptical machine.

I’m going to be doing a lot of cooking this summer, too. Aside from the fact that we’ve finally got a new grill (steaks! burgers! chicken! kabobs!), there’s a crapload of recipes I’ve been wanting to try out “when I have the time”. Well, lookee here, I seem to have the time!

One thing is for sure, I certainly WON’T be neglecting my on-line journal this time around. Last sabbatical I only wrote nine entries in the whole eight weeks. Such a bad example I set! Not this time, though.

So. Hi! I made it! Summer vacation, here I come!

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    I just took a friend of mine for her Essure on Tuesday and mine is scheduled for mid-July.

  2. Kimmothy says:

    I didn’t know it was possible to feel this level of happiness/jealousy simultaneously! I hope you have a ridiculously great summer!

  3. Kami-O says:

    U can always come visit me.. I attempted to make another “break for it” and go out there for vacation but flights and even bus are so expensive..

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Wooohooo, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

