Goodness and Light

Posted: April 29, 2010 in Family, Friends, vacation

I am waiting… for… Vizzini. Or, the exterminator. You know, whichever comes first.

Went to Kohl’s with Joy yesterday, and spent a very fun hour piling clothes up on my arm, trying them on in the dressing room, and departing with significantly less clothes than when I walked in. Still managed to find quite a few shirts and one dress. The shirts are primarily of the “booby” kind and will not be worn to work, Quoth The Bill. Who hasn’t even seen them yet, but is still right about that. I drew that conclusion for my very own before he pontificated at me, so whatevs.

I also got a pair of Reebok Easy Tones (significantly less expensive at Kohl’s!) and wore them during my elliptical work-out. My toes fell asleep. Perhaps those shoes are ONLY meant for walking. In general they’re pretty comfy, though.

Our darling and beloved friend Joss stopped by for a quick visit yesterday, after her radiation therapy. She had her double-mastectomy back in March, and also had about twenty lymph-nodes removed from her left side. She’s done with all of her chemo, has a month of five-day-a-week radiation treatments to go, plus six more months of Herceptin treatments, but is extremely chipper and looks fantastic. Her hair is growing back, she’s got great mobility and flexibility in both of her arms (she’s been diligent about her exercises), and, most wonderful of all, her surgeon gave her the “all clear” and said they were successful in removing all of the cancer cells. She had some in her chest wall as well as her breasts and lymph-nodes, so to hear that they got it all was fantastic news. I just can’t get over her positive attitude and her ENERGY. She said it was very rough there, for a while, but she’s on “third base, on her way to home,” and Bill and I are ecstatic.

This afternoon I’m meeting my sister-in-law Karen for lunch to get all caught up with everything that’s been going on in each others’ lives. Mexican food is on the menu which, you know, just breaks my heart. Afterwards I think I’ll stop at a florist to get some more fodder for my experimentation with macro photography. I did plan on going to the museum this week, and getting a mani/pedi, but those things didn’t happen and that’s okay. I’ve been spending my time just how I want to spend it at the moment, which is the epitome of a successful vacation.

Bill is home tomorrow. It has been a lovely week and I do enjoy my solitude every now and then, but I miss my husband and I’m not embarrassed to say it!

(I used Hello Kitty today because I just KNOW Heather is going to leave some snarky comment about that last sentence, sure as the sun rises in the East. I like to make my friends happy.)

Comments
  1. crisitunity says:

    That’s wonderful news about Joss. So glad to hear it. I would not be so chipper a month after a double mastectomy.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    +1 to what Crisitunity said. That’s wonderful news, and I hope it keeps getting better!

    Shopping. Ugh. Unless it’s motorcycles or guitars, just give me a catalog or a web site.

    *uses his Y chromosome as a dowsing rod*

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    Would you rather I blow pink glittery smoke up yer ass? 😀

  4. I love Kohls! …and booby shirts 😛

  5. Shelli says:

    That’s great news about your friend! 🙂

    Your booby shirts would have come in handy for Boobquake last week!

    And please explain this: “departing with significantly less clothes than when I walked in”!! (and Bill has a problem with booby shirts? LOL)

    • Tiffany says:

      Well, I took a pile of clothes in, tried them on, decided “nay” on some and “yea” on some. Therefore, departed the dressing room with less. And no, Bill absolutely does NOT have a problem with booby shirts… just with me wearing them when he’s not around. Heh.

Leave a Reply

