2nd amendment

Top – AK47 rifle
Middle – Saiga 12 gauge shotgun (the new one that Bill just bought, that I hinted at in yesterday’s picture)
Bottom left – 9mm Smith and Wesson (top), 9mm Lady Smith and Wesson (bottom)
Bottom right – Smith and Wesson 686 scoped (top), and Colt Diamondback custom .38

We tend to practice our second amendment rights in this household. Burglarize at your own risk.

While we’re on the subject, now I’m curious. How many of you guys out there are gun owners?

Comments
  1. *raises his non-shooting hand*

  2. Shelli says:

    I am. Custom Rossi 5-shot revolver. My hands are so small, I can’t hold anything bigger. 😦 We won’t relive my 12-gauge experience! LOL

  3. Kimmothy says:

    I’m married to a southerner; what do you think!? We have started a nice little collection of shotguns and rifles but I’m really wanting a hand gun so that I can be confident we’ll own something I’ll actually be able to shoot a target and not myself. Your collection is drool-worthy and I’m going to show Brian this picture later.

    • Tiffany says:

      They’re all Bill’s with the exception of the Lady S&W, which I bought to protect myself from The Crazy. We haven’t gone shooting in a long time but I suspect that will change since Bill has a new toy to play with.

  4. crisitunity says:

    Nope, neither of us are. Don’t plan on owning any.

    I did grow up in a household with a shotgun and a handgun, neither of which I was ever allowed to touch ever. My dad taught me that you should never pick up a gun unless you intend to shoot it, and you should never shoot a gun unless you intend to kill something. I find this an extremely wise way to keep kids away from guns.

    • Tiffany says:

      I didn’t grow up around guns either, but Bill introduced the kids to them at a very young age and we knew they knew how to treat them with respect. Still kept them (the guns, not the kids) locked up though!

  5. NIce little collection you have there. Have you fired the shotgun much? I am curious if it feeds, and ejects reliably. I am more of an AR15 pattern rifle fan because of the inherent accuracy, But I appreciate the rugged reliability of the AK platform. NIce post and stay safe.

  6. Taoist Biker says:

    That Saiga looks like a good way to turn your shoulder black and blue for half a week.

    The only gun I personally own is a garden-variety Remington 870. I once had a .44 1851 Navy replica, but it locked up nicely after about nine months, even with serious cleaning and attention. My inheritance will (likely) include one great-grandfather’s side-by-side Stevens 20ga, and another ggpa’s break-top .32 S&W. I’d like to own a .22 rifle, a .22 pistol, and maybe a nice centerfire handgun, but generally speaking I’ve always found other things I’d rather spend $500 on.

    Crisitunity, I think your father’s approach is reasonable – my lessons were similar, but we were also allowed to shoot, under serious supervision, so we 1) knew how to shoot if we needed to, and 2) would have the opportunity ourselves instead of sitting around wondering what it would be like until curiosity got the better of us when adults weren’t around. Maybe that’s partially a boy-child vs. girl-child thinking? Reasonably or not?

    • crisitunity says:

      Probably, and also my father raised me to fear him, unlike your nice family, so I wouldn’t’ve played with the guns even if I hadn’t known better.

    • Shelli says:

      Nope, not boy vs. girl. I was raised the same way, and I raised my 3 (2 girls, 1 boy) that way as well. Taught how to properly use and clean a gun. Take away the temptation to see what it’s all about. Responsibility is what it’s all about, not gender. 🙂

      • Taoist Biker says:

        I didn’t mean to imply it should only be done for boys, just that in my family and my part of the world, parents were probably only thinking about boys in those terms.

        My wife is actually a good shot with a .22. I don’t remember if she’s ever fired a 12ga.

    • Tiffany says:

      We’re actually talking about getting a smaller handgun for me, now that the concealed carry laws have been lightened here in AZ. Hey Bill, if you read this, whatever happened to your dad’s gun collection?

  7. Bill says:

    We have not fired the siaga 12 yet but I am hoping it operates as advertised.
    It is very “tight” out of the box and seems to be hard to load the mag. but that may pass as we get use to it, we shall see.
    If it turns out to half the gun the AK is for the money it will be great.
    For those looking for a gun first make sure it fits your hands and that it is not such a large round you fear shooting it.
    I think the next one will be a .22 mag revolver.
    You can never have to many guns,motorcycles…

  8. […] Billy bought some… stuff… for the zombie […]

  9. […] against the zombie apocalypse and you’ve purchased a Saiga 12 shotgun (which I wrote about here), be aware that the magazines provided by Surefire, specifically the SGM mags, WILL NOT FEED […]

Leave a Reply

