My husband is very anxious for me to share this shot with you:

ghostinthereflection

Because, see, if you zoom in on the glass window of the door at the end of that hall, you see this:

izzataghost

And here it is again, with brightness and contrast increased:

izzataghostcontrast

As you’ve probably guessed, this is a shot from inside the Hotel Monte Vista, which I mentioned in my last entry is purported to be haunted. This is the fourth floor hallway (we were room 411, the “Gene Tierney” room, which was very… mauve), and the picture was taken at around 9:30 at night. Bill was bringing the camera back up to our room because we were in the lounge and I didn’t think I’d need it anymore (and then of course I ended up going right back upstairs and getting it again a half-hour later). He paused in the hallway and called out for any ghosts to make themselves known (we’ve been watching too many episodes of Ghost Hunters), then he took this shot. I didn’t notice anything until the post-processing when I looked a little closer at the reflection in the window, and goosebumps raised right up on my arms. I showed it to Bill, and he kind of freaked out a little.

I will say that Bill was standing too far back (he’d zoomed in down the hallway toward the door) for this to be his reflection. So. A ghost? A trick of the light? Weird reflective stuff? I’ll let you decide. We certainly didn’t experience any tangible supernatural experiences during our stay.

Anyway, work is swampy with all the swampiness, so the remainder of the weekend’s activities will have to wait for my next entry. In the meantime, I’ll share a few photos to whet your appetites (and if you follow me on Flickr or Twitter you’ve probably already seen some of these).

falcon

owlhighcontrast

basementmall3

barstilllife2

Comments
  1. Avitable says:

    If my time watching Ghost Hunters has taught me anything, it’s that they’ll call that type of reflection “compositing” or something, and it’s when the human eye makes things out of what’s not there, especially with old glass. It’s still a cool photo!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Nice photos! The one makes me think “Hmm, did she buy that dress? It was clearly calling to her.”

  3. Shelli says:

    Our brains organize chaos into something that we understand, so my guess is that it’s just an odd angle or lighting or funky glass.

    But, it kinda looks like an old bald dude with a big fuzzy gray beard, scowling at Bill for waking him up (you can tell he was asleep, ’cause the beard hasn’t been groomed, AND he’s wearing a Hugh Heffner type robe).

    Or, he’s half human, half cartoon cat.

    Or it’s a clown.

    Either way, Hef wants his robe back. ­čśë

    • Tiffany says:

      Okay, you just cracked me up SO BAD that people were popping their heads up over the cubicle walls to see what the hell was so funny. Har!

      • Shelli says:

        oops, sorry … I hope I didn’t get you in any trouble.

        If, at a later date, you find that this is, in fact, a reflection of Bill, then I rescind everything I said, and commend you on landing yourself such an attractive husband. ­čśë

  4. angelcel says:

    I’ll watch any programme on ghosts / UFOs / the unexplained but I have to say it took some time for something to fall into place here. I’m with the other commenters, this reminded me a bit of those images from about 15 years ago when you had to squint or be semi comatose to make sense of, and see the blindingly obvious ‘dolphin in the surf’! I’m still happy to take your word for it however. I *know* ghosts exist.

    I do like you other photos too. The first looks like he’s putting on a noble stance for the camera! The second is one of my favourite creatures (because owls always look *so* disdainful) and I really like the glow of light in the third.

    • Tiffany says:

      Heh, Amanda couldn’t see it, either. And I HATED those “Magic Eyes” images, I always gave myself eyestrain trying to relax and concentrate at the same time.

      It was hard to get a BAD picture of those birds, they’re so glorious. Unless they were flying. I find that I am NO adept at photographing moving subjects.

  5. […] went to Flagstaff, stayed in a haunted hotel, and saw the live raptor program at the […]

Leave a Reply

