Here’s the thing.

Posted: April 9, 2010 in bitching, Drama, Headspace, WTF, Your Opinion Matters

I don’t get blog-induced drama. Never have. Never will. I don’t understand how some folks’ blogs can be blown up in the comments with posters offering vitriol and poison and hatred and angst. I don’t get how some folks can write about the success of another blogger in terms of disgust and anger. I’ve never gotten the whole blog clique thing, with the gang of bloggers in this corner heaping scorn upon the gang of bloggers in that corner, and vice-versa. I’ve never held with popularity contests.

I guess, being on the sidelines of the blogisphere as I am, that I’m only exposed to this sort of thing in a small way. I see it in the blogs that I read, but not in my own blog. And I LIKE IT THAT WAY. I don’t bring controversy. I don’t shock blog. My opinions on subjects are, for the most part, unoffensive – I am a pretty darned easygoing kind of gal. I just have this peaceful little corner of the internet, surrounded my great readers and great friends, and every comment and e-mail that I receive is a gift.

A GIFT, not an expectation, and not an indicator of my “success” as a blogger. So I get seven comments, and another blogger gets five thousand comments. Big deal!

If somebody posts something on their blog that offends me, I just close my browser. They’re entitled to their opinions and their perspectives. I don’t blow up their comments. I don’t fiendishly type away in my solitude in the dark because “someone on the internet is wrong!” I don’t come over here and talk about them. I don’t go all, “UNFOLLOW!” and try to start a crusade against them. Most times, I go back to their blog another day, and I laugh at their funny story, or sympathize with their issues, or appreciate their perspective. And if I don’t, so what. I don’t expect everyone to LOOOOOVE me, either, or hang on my every word as if from the Prophet Himself.

If someone puts ads on their blog or somehow makes money from their blog, I don’t take offense. I don’t sit on some sort of high horse because I haven’t “sold out”. I don’t believe them undeserving to receive monetary compensation for how they spend their time. More power to them! For the most part, people have learned to place ads in an unoffensive, unobtrusive manner. So if they get five cents for every click, congratulations! If they have sponsors, good for them! Freebies are awesome!

See, WHO a blogger IS quite often has very little to do with their blog at all. So I don’t pass judgement. I just observe, join in when I’m motivated to, walk away when I need to, and never ever forget that life is lived OUTSIDE of the internet.

This soapbox moment brought to by Jack Daniels. I’m about to enjoy the HELL out of this sunshiny afternoon. I suggest you all do the same!

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    [insert obligatory “fuck this blog” joke here]

    I mean, you WERE practically begging for it!

    I always say, DUH, it’s a blog. Don’t like it? There’s 100,000 more out there. Try one.

  2. crisitunity says:

    I am extremely curious about what inspired this Soapbox Moment (c). But if you don’t feel like it’s a good idea to say, that’s all right.

    Also, I agree with you.

    • Tiffany says:

      It wasn’t anything specific, really… maybe the whole DRAMA AT THE DISCO over Dooce going to Washington, some other posts that made me roll my eyes at a couple of blogs, that sort of thing.

  3. Hilly says:

    I purposely deleted Snackiepoo for this very reason. I hate blog drama and hate knowing about it all of the time even when it has nothing to do with me. Ever since moving back to California and starting my smaller blog, I have so much morepeace in this arena. I couldn’t care less about who likes/dislikes whom and all that jazz. In fact, today someone alluded to drama on Facebook and I was like, “Huh, I don’t even know what’s going on!”.

    That is a nice feeling.

    I feel like every comment I receive is a blessing and they all make me smile so much. I now know that the people who read my blog came to the new one because they actually like what I have to say and I am a-ok with that!

    • Tiffany says:

      I was wondering if there was more behind your blog move than, well, your physical move and the whole starting all over thing. I am glad you’re here, Hilly!

  4. Amanda says:

    Here here sista!

  5. sherry says:

    I think your opinion fucking SUCKS and this blog in general sucks ass. I’m telling EVERYONE to stop reading you!!!!!

    Snort. I get enough comment drama from my celeb blog, I sure don’t need it on my personal blog.

Leave a Reply

