Hot like wasabe when I bust rhymes

Posted: April 2, 2010 in Arizona, Food, kids, Music, weekend

Robert and Joy are coming over tomorrow to hang out and eat and watch movies. And probably drink. It’s what we do.

I’m making roasted barbecue chicken breasts. I have a very tried and true method for cooking perfect boneless chicken breasts (I imagine it would work for bone-in, too), regardless of the herbage I apply. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, put the rack in the middle of the oven. Line a cookie sheet with tinfoil and spray with cooking spray. Coat chicken breasts in whatever sauce/herbs/spices/salt/pepper/whathaveyou that you desire (we’re using this of course!). Stick them in the oven and cook for 35-40 minutes. Voila! Perfection every time. No need to baste them or cover them or anything.

I’m also making Grandma’s Triple Top-Secret Potato Salad, and trying my hand at this recipe for carrot cake that PW recently posted.

It’s been a while since I messed around in the kitchen. I’m kind of looking forward to it.

On Sunday, Bill and I are driving about two hours east to the Boyce Thompson Arboretum. The wildflowers are supposedly in full-tilt kick-assedness, so look forward to pictures next week! Plus some more of the zoo and the other stuff Bill and I did last weekend – still haven’t gotten around to processing those pictures, yet. I’ve gotta say, I’m totally LOVING how Bill keeps coming up with stuff for us to do together every weekend. First it was Oro Valley, then the zoo and stuff last weekend, now this. Gosh, I just think he’s the bee’s knees.

Finally, I don’t think I posted about it, but I got the all-clear from my doc about the heart thing. The scans were normal, the inflammation is gone, and the short PR interval is nothing to be concerned about, just aware of. Ticker’s doing good!

———-

And now, the song that is currently stuck in my head. You’re welcome, and happy weekend!

Comments
  1. Shelli says:

    How do you not weigh 500lbs with all the good stuffs you eat? LOL My step-grandmother makes the only potato salad that I’ll eat with any kind of enjoyment. Probably because there’s no celery or onions in it. 😉 Great song, btw; one of my Bill’s favorites!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I’m glad you heard good news about your ticker!

    But your video has put me in mind of this hoary internet classic. Heh.

    As for the chicken…don’t you have a grill? Silly hyoo-mahn. I made what Dys calls my Dixie Chicken Pad Thai this weekend, though, and that calls for baked chicken breasts instead of grilled. So I’ll shaddap now.

    • Tiffany says:

      Oh, now, what did I ever do to you that you had to inflict that on me???

      We had a grill but it’s fritzy so now we roast. I am interested in knowing what goes into Dixie Chicken Pad Thai…

Leave a Reply

