A writer in the family

Posted: March 30, 2010 in Family
Tags: , ,

This is my great-great grandfather (right), Hector MacInnis Cantelo, and his son John William “Billy” Cantelo.

hectorandbillycantelo

Hector was born on September 16th, 1840, and died on November 15th, 1933. John was born on October 29, 1876, and died in February 1960. This picture was taken sometime around 1900, when Hector and John came over to Maine from Prince Edward Island to visit relatives (possibly my great-grandmother) for about a month. Apparently Hector used to write dozens and dozens of songs and poems with which to entertain family and friends. There’s a possibility that one of his hand-written poems is still in the possession of the lady I’ve been communicating with via Ancestry.com. She provided me with this photo a few days ago.

Hector wrote poems and songs.
Jessie (Hector’s daughter, my great-grandmother) wrote poems.
My grandmother’s sister Peggy wrote poetry.
The lady I’ve been communicating with, my grandmother’s first cousin once removed, is an English teacher.
My mother wrote short stories.
And then there’s me.
And, according to my sister, my niece Sable loves to write.

Apparently this writing thing runs in the family.

Comments
  1. Dyskinesia says:

    That is just very cool stuff!

    … and can I just say that wow to living to 93 in that time as well? Wow. I’m not sure anyone in my family has lived to 93; certainly not anyone that I can remember.

    • Tiffany says:

      Huh! I didn’t do the math. Yes, the maternal side of my family (well, barring my mother, and my great-grandmother, who turns out was killed by her second husband, morbid much?) tends to be long lived. Good genes!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I spent quite some time on Monday searching my office computer for a few old family photos that I KNOW I’ve scanned here at work at some point…to no avail. I will search for them at home, and barring finding the scans, will re-scan ’em. I think you’d like ’em.

Leave a Reply

