All Planned Out

Posted: March 24, 2010 in Maine, vacation
Tags: , , , ,

My vacation planning and reservations-making for our Maine vacation is officially done. I will pay more for the car rental than I really wanted (luxury! we’re going to be in the car a lot, after all, and driving a fun car is part of the vacation experience for us), but on all of the other stuff I feel like I got a pretty good deal.

Stalkers take note (and Bill, since this info is primarily for him). Thieves, belay that since we’ll be having a more than capable house sitter at the time. He can kill you with his thumbs! And then Gypsy will eat you.

Arriving in Boston on 7/15, driving to Portland and staying at the Eastland Park Hotel. From the 16th to the 20th we will find plenty of stuff to do (Portland Head Light, J’s Oysters, the Yarmouth Clam Festival, maybe a drive down to Kennebunkport, perhaps a Windjammer Cruise), Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard are only a couple of hours away…).

We will then pick up my sister on the morning of July 20th (my berfday!) and drive up to Bar Harbor (staying at the Holiday Inn Regency Sunspree Inn and Resort). Perhaps on the way we will have lunch in Boothbay Harbor or Camden, or make side-trips to Fort Popham or Fort Knox – my sister has seen neither and she’s lived in Maine all of her life! I encouraged her to be a tourist in her own state, but her response was, “Yeah, and who has that kind of time?” Anyway, the three of us will fart around up there for a couple of days, then drive back to New Gloucester (dropping my sister back off on the way) on the 22nd and stay with my Uncle (at my Grandmother’s house where I grew up) until the morning of the 24th, when we will drive back to Boston and fly home.

At which point I will cry. But at least the flight home is direct, so there will be no chance of us getting stuck in Philadelphia again.

The final FINAL thing I have to do to finish ALL of our summer travel reservations is book airfare and a rental car for that little motorcycle race thing in August. I hate having stuff like this hanging over my head, have you noticed? I mean, August is FIVE months away, yet I have this nagging at the back of my mind to get it all done. Which will probably happen in the next week or to. I am an obsessive vacation planner, have you noticed?

Anyway. I’m totally stoked. Over all of it.

Comments
  1. crisitunity says:

    This commenter is planning minute details (like, will Mom’s corsage be wrist or pin?) a full year or more before her (not-yet-set) wedding date. So I understand. Entirely.

    As a side note, don’t you mean Baa Haabaa? 😀

    • Tiffany says:

      Heh, I did have a passing thought about your planning habits as I was writing this. And yes, though I spell it correctly, I do make like a sheep when I say it.

  2. It sounds like you’re going to have a great time in Maine! If you’re into being on the water at all I would change your “perhaps” to “definitely” for the windjammer cruise. The first boat I ever sailed on was the Wendameen (now owned by the Portland Schooner Company) and it was fantastic! She was so fast and sexy and, although that was in 1993, I’m guessing she is still all that. It was a life-changing experience for me actually…I ended up leaving my bank job and working on sail boats! Some would argue that a “windjammer cruise” has to be at least overnight, if not multi-nights, and that the Wendameen is just a day sail but I advocate for getting out on the water no matter what you call it!

    BTW…love the Louise Dickinson Rich quote!

    • Tiffany says:

      Hi Brenda! Thanks for stopping by. The more I look into it, the more I think I’m going to have to take that cruise. They have cruises that last for a few hours and include dinner, too, which is just WICKED romantical and stuff.

  3. Wicked good! I hope you have a great time in Maine.

Leave a Reply

