Ancestors

Posted: March 4, 2010 in Family

I signed up for the trial membership of Ancestry.com. I often feel bereft of roots, and it seems none of the family members (read: all three) that I’m in contact with have very much information to share. So I signed up, not expecting to find nuthin’ much of nuthin’.

My father’s side of the family is pretty much a dead end, and will continue to be unless I find out who his parents were, and what his actual birth date was. I don’t think I’ve ever met my paternal grandparents, though according to my uncle they were very lovely people.

On my mother’s side of the family, I can’t get past my grandfather’s parents. On my grandmother’s side, though, there’s a TON of information via HER mother, my great-grandmother, and I’ve gotten all the way to great-great-great grandparents from England, Prince Edward Island, and Scotland, all born in the late 1700’s. With such fascinating surnames as Hill, Cantelo, MacPhee, and McInnis. This is all very exciting stuff, to me.

In poking around and reading “hints” generated by other people’s trees, it seemed that someone else was researching the same familial line from my grandmother’s people. It turns out to be a girl who is the granddaughter of one of my grandmother’s sisters. She and I are about the same age and used to be pen-pals back when my mother first died. Her family encouraged her to write me, and we exchanged letters for several years before we lost touch. I sent her a message via the website, I’m hoping she reads it and gets in touch with me again.

Anyway. This stuff is probably only interesting to me (even Bill’s interest is of the polite type). Sorry to bog you down, carry on!

Comments
  1. jadesymb says:

    What do you think of the site? was it worth the cash?

    • Tiffany says:

      The network of info it has access to is HUGE, and with the amount of people using it the connections are even better. So, yeah, I might not keep it past the three month mark, but I think it’s really cool.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Born in the late 1700s, eh? My ancestors were moving into the county where I was born about that time. 😉

    Seriously, if you’re back to the old country, you’re doing better than me. My personal best efforts petered out about 1790…for a few lines, the 1890s. They didn’t track people in the old days like they do now, so it was easy for people to fall off the map.

    I’ll email you a tip or two.

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    I hope you find what you’re looking for and that you find the roots you feel like you’re missing.

    Lea did a membership to Ancestry.com to find out something of her own. It took her 15 minutes to find what she was looking for and she had a month membership to burn so she gave her login to me and Amy. That’s how I finally found out where my Dad is buried. I’m thankful for that. I’d always wondered.

    I wish I had more of an interest in my own lineage but past my grandparents (I was fortunate enough to know three of them), I really don’t. I get stuff from the family I do keep up with about not registering with the Cherokee Nation and all that stuff too. I know who I am and who my real family is (and I don’t share blood with most of them) and that’s all that matters to me.

  4. Shelli says:

    Be grateful that you can get records, no matter how. I can get records for my mother’s side of the family, but my father’s side stops with my grandmother. We are Native American, and the tribe we’re from has locked up their records, and won’t allow “outsiders” access to them. Outsiders, to them, are those who married outside of the race, which means my grandmother was the “traitor”, and now we’re all considered unworthy of the family records. It’s frustrating and sad.

    I have a friend that’s a genealogist by hobby, and has found fascinating records of her family. If you haven’t caught it yet, there are 2 tv series recently. One on Wednesday nights on PBS, called “Faces of America” and one starting tonight 3/5 on NBC called “Who Do You Think You Are”, both dealing with genealogy.

Leave a Reply

