Rollin’ into the weekend.

Posted: February 19, 2010 in Bring the funny, Home, weekend
Tags: , , , , ,

I am in a waaay frickin’ GOOD MOOD. Even though Whitney Houston is currently singing about how emotional she gets and this song makes my teeth grit in a very gritty way.

I worked from home today because we had the insurance adjuster (that word just looks wrong, for some reason) coming over to assess how much money they would or would not be giving us toward the required repairs to our roof. The end result, after much tape measuring and roof climbing and eeping at the snake who I promised would NOT escape from her tank – well, while it is certainly not going to cover the entire amount, it is far better than a kick in the pants. Plus, they cut a check right on the spot. So, there’s that.

Except that Bill is currently on AutoTrader.com and is trying to convince me to spend the money on something other than the roof. STOP IT STOP IT STOP IT.

Then the landscaper stopped by to give us an estimate on cleaning up the god-awful white-trashedness that is the current condition of our front and back yards, and to give us a quote on a monthly maintenance package (because we just can’t seem to pull off taking care of it ourselves). The quote he handed me made me say, out LOUD, “Really? Are you sure? For BOTH the front and back yards?” To which he replied in the affirmative. To which I responded, “At least let me throw in a six-pack!” Dude is CHEAP, has worked for us before, does our neighbor’s yard, and is coming TOMORROW to get started. Thank the good Lord that value and customer service aren’t completely extinct concepts.

Now we’re just hanging out for a couple of hours before it’s time to get ready and go to the Improv to see Mitch Fatel. Amanda’s going with us, and she’s never been to a comedy club, so that should be fun.

All in all, it’s been an excellent kick-off, rolling into the weekend. I leave you with something to chuckle over (probably not all that safe for work, btw), and wishes for a fabuloso weekend yourselves!

Comments
  1. He is funnier in a dark club…and he interacts with the crowd well. I laughed hard when I saw him. He was busting on the guy next to me about “blowing guys” and that guy ended up going to the bathroom without Mitch seeing him leave. Mitch asked me where the guy was and I told him he was under the table blowing me.

    Everyone laughed and Mitch told me to leave the punchlines to him…it wasn’t polite to get bigger laughs than the guy on the stage.

  2. Shelli says:

    What’s the difference? What’s the difference?! *sigh* Men! (very funny clip!)

    Hope you had a great time, and congrats on the “windfall”. 🙂

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    The snake WON’T escape. Unless you lowball us, in which case, I can’t make any guarantees. How much do you weigh, by the way?

Leave a Reply

