Daydreaming (108 days!)

Posted: February 9, 2010 in vacation, work
Tags: , , ,

I was just saying to Crisitunity that I feel like I’ve been neglecting my friends’ blogs. I am reading (though sometimes I am guilty of skimming, sorry!), just not clicking through very often from my feed reader to comment. For that, I apologize. There is no excuse for not making time for your friends. I hope to fix that in the very near future. I love you all!!! Really!!!

So, lately I’ve been daydreaming. Thinking about the time, 108 days, 5 hours, and some minutes from now, when I’m on a gloriously long, lovely, relaxing vacation. I’ve come to the realization, just as some of you predicted, that I have gotten myself stretched way too thin. This realization started creeping up on me last week, but hit me full force yesterday when it was all I could do to keep up with work at AcronymCo, let alone any of the other obligations I’ve got going on right now. I ran FLAT OUT all last week with AcronymCo stuff and the benefit stuff, did a bunch of work and cleaning and cooking over the weekend, and come Monday my body just went, “Hey bitch! Sit DOWN.” I rested for the day, Bill patted my head and brought me tea and put dinner together last night, I went to bed at a decent hour, slept soundly, and today I’m feeling much restored.

After the benefit party this weekend, I think there will be a natural slow-down on the photography stuff. The second half of January and the first half of February were incredibly busy with the expansion and the grand re-opening and the tequila party and the tailgate party and the benefit party – I kind of feel like I’ve been living at The Sandstone. Nothing’s on the books for the near future, though, so I’m taking advantage and taking a BREAK. Writing will continue apace, but will be much more manageable – four entries a week for BMP and three a week for UpTake are cake and, when I stick to my writing schedule, are mostly accomplished between Saturday morning and Monday afternoon.

In 108 days, I will be in the extremely satisfying position of spending sixty-five(!) consecutive days exactly as I decide they should be spent. Removing 40+ hours per week of secular obligations frees me up to pursue discipline or pleasure as I see fit. Really, the only thing I have planned is the aforementioned twice-weekly writing schedule, working out every day, and keeping the house clean. Plus whatever photography projects pop up during that time. Bill and I aren’t going to Maine until the third week in July, then I’ll have just a week left of Sabbatical by the time we get back.

Certainly I plan to blog more than I did during my last sabbatical – I was looking back one day last week, refreshing my memory on how I was feeling leading up to, and during, my first sabbatical. I came to the realization that I only wrote NINE entries during my two-month vacation (starting here and ending with this one). That’s just nonsense, right there. I know I read a lot (“Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” had just come out), a friend loaned me a bunch of Buffy DVD’s, and we went to Maui and to Maine, but I’ll be blessed if I can recall what the heck I did for the rest of it. Was just plain lazy, apparently. There’s nothing wrong with that, though I would have liked a little more documentation of said laziness (which kind of defeats the purpose of being lazy, I know).

Sigh. Not to wish my life away, but I can’t WAIT for 4:00 p.m. on May 28th!!!

Comments
  1. That is a long way to look ahead…too long for me.

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    I see nothing wrong with skimming. I do it all the time and I’m positive my reader isn’t even half the size of yours. 😀

    I remember what I did during part of your sabbatical…I tormented your cat!

  3. Kami-O says:

    I’m with HJ, I’m lucky I get readers, but as you’ve told me in the past, it matters not, you need to do it for you!

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

