Comfort Zone

Posted: February 4, 2010 in Friends
Tags: , ,

Updated 12:50 p.m. – Someone asked, and yes, the link to make donations is still live if anyone wishes to contribute! Thanks!

———-

I’m a little outside of my comfort zone, but I’m plowing forward. It’s for a good cause, and it’s good for me!

A friend and I, as well as the owner of the Sandstone, are organizing another benefit party for Joss. I made and printed up a bunch of fliers, and yesterday during lunch I pounded the pavement. I hit several bars/restaurants that we frequent, that all know Joss, asked to put the fliers in their windows, and asked for raffle item donations. Now, I don’t like approaching perfect strangers and asking them for stuff, but I found that it wasn’t too hard for me to do. I just kept Joss in the forefront of my mind, who is one of the bravest people I know. Everyone was very kind and helpful and positive, and I even got a raffle item donated right then and there from one of the establishments.

Joss also sent me a list of some key friends that she wanted specifically invited, many of whom are in the “industry” (bartenders/restaurateurs) and may be able to help out. I was thinking, oh, maybe a half-dozen or a dozen names. Ha! I forgot just how beloved this woman is. She sent me a list with fifty-five phone numbers on it, which is so awesome as to not be believed. However, that means I have to get a little more outside of my comfort zone, and cold-call all fifty-five people, most of whom I do not know.

Again, that’s okay! I’ve just finished number twelve (forty-four more to go!) and I’ve got a rhythm down for the messages I leave when they don’t pick up, or the conversations I have when they do.

We’re doing really well with the party planning – we’ve got eleven raffle items so far, and I’m hoping for more. I’m going to shop for the decorations, someone from the Sandstone is going to decorate, and we have live music lined up. I don’t think I’ll have the time this go-around to take the pictures, since I’ll be too busy helping to run the benefit party, but that’s okay. We got tons last time.

I’m kind of anxious about all of this, because I want a great turn-out and funds rolling in for Joss. But those things are out of my hands, and I AM handling those things that are within my hands. Joss is so darned upbeat about everything, even though she’s incredibly sick from the chemo and radiation, and is getting a double-mastectomy at the end of February.

She’s such a great friend, and a lovely person. Everybody loves her, and I just KNOW the sheer amount of positive energy flowing her way is helping!

Comments
  1. I’ve thrown one benefit in my life, so I may not be much help, but I have a question. Do any of Joss’s friends/family like to play poker? We hosted a silent auction but the main event was a poker tournament w/ an entry fee, 50% of which went to the beneficiary and the other 50% went to prize money for the top three players, 2 of whom ended up donating the money they won back to the guest of honor. Among the very generous friends who donated auction items, the ones who purchased said items, and the ones who simply gave money, we were able to raise $10K. On 2 weeks notice (she found out she had a brain tumor & as a daycare provider out of her home she had health insurance through her husband’s work but would be without her own income for three months).

    Ask people, friends of Joss’s, to donate items to an auction. Lots of times people have things they can donate as opposed to $ that someone else will find an absolute treasure in owning.

    When is this benefit?

    • Tiffany says:

      That’s an AWESOME idea, and one we will keep in mind for the one she’s tentatively having in March (after her surgery). We are doing a 50/50 raffle where ppl donate cash and then the raffle winner gets half and Joss gets half. The party is on 2/13 – I feel like we’re in pretty good shape, though! The raffle items are more concentrated on the theme of gift certificates and free services (I’m raffling off a portrait session, for example). I’m hoping more items will come forth as I call all the people on the list. Thanks for your advice!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Poker runs can also be good fundraisers if Sandstone is generally frequented by bikers. Poker run during the day, with the bar the final meeting place where the winners are revealed, then a poker tourney? Hmm.

    Either way, I hope things work out well for the benefit and for your friend.

    • Tiffany says:

      Thanks! It is a good idea, and quite a few bikers frequent the bar.

      Ha. I just realized that I said there were 55 numbers, I’d called 12, and there were 44 to go… Hi! I do math good!

  3. What a great idea!! You sound like a very good friend.

  4. Kami-O says:

    Damn, you are so completely good at this and Joss is lucky to have you too!
    Good luck to Joss and for the record, if I would have known you were so damn good at this I would have had you help me!

    Proud of ya!!!

  5. iamheatherjo says:

    Awesome!! And I’m sure it makes it a liiiittle easier to call folks when you have a mutual friend to open the line of communication. I know it would me for me, anyway. Want me to call some folks for ya? 🙂

  6. Shelli says:

    Good luck with all your planning! I hope everything turns out just as you’re hoping it will. 🙂

  7. […] darling and beloved friend Joss stopped by for a quick visit yesterday, after her radiation therapy. She had her double-mastectomy […]

Leave a Reply

