Toll.

Posted: January 25, 2010 in Headspace, Health/Fitness, work

I am paying the price for my on-line life.

I’m on the computer for HOURS a day. All day long, and often into the night. I log on at about 7:00 in the morning and don’t log off until sometimes as late as 10:00 at night. In between those times, I do very little in the form of actual movement. Some of that computer time is recreational, but the vast majority of it (like, 90%, and that’s conservative) is for work in one form or another. AcronymCo work, with its PO placement and supplier management and e-mail answering and web document sharing and database maintenance and the fielding of a thousand and three instant messages. Writing for Beyond Megapixels, and promoting those entries to Digg, and Reddit, and Delicious, and Stumble, and Kirtsy, and Twitter. Writing for UpTake, and promoting THOSE entries. Downloading and editing photos and uploading them to wherever they need to go. Website maintenance and mailing list maintenance and Google Group messages and Facebook and Twitter for Sandstone. Plus my own blog writing here at Snerkology, with all that entails. Well, that’s not work, technically. If I’m going to count that, then I’m going to count my personal Facebook and Twitter and e-mail and and and…

… and we’re at 100%, and rising.

I’m only writing this now because I’m waiting for my lunch to digest before I go work out. I have GOT to MAKE myself get up and away from the computer for a significantly increased amount of time than what I’m enjoying now. Which is zero, so anything above that is a significant increase. Okay, so a significantly significant increase. Every single day. Every single HOUR. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat down at the computer, only to look up FIVE HOURS LATER with no sense of time passing, and a desperate need to pee.

My back and neck hurt constantly. My eyes feel strained. I’m tired all the time. I have no energy and no physical strength. I’m not sleeping well. My digestive system is currently staging a revolt. My wrists hurt. My mood is in the shitter. I feel, for want of a better and more specific term, yucky.

I have decided, starting today and for the foreseeable future (at least until the start of my Sabbatical – which is 122 days away, I might add) that I am going to strictly adhere to logging off at 5:00 p.m. on the button, every night. (Taoist Biker’s monthly radio shows are an exception to this rule.) Whatever work that didn’t get done will just have to wait. I am going to have to manage my time MORE effectively to get the stuff done that needs to get done within the 7:00-5:00 timeframe. And during those hours I’ll get up, EVERY hour, for a few minutes at LEAST, to walk around and stretch (that one will be a tough habit to get into).

I will work on Saturdays, but I will NOT work on Sundays AT ALL. I might even make myself (gasp!) turn the computer off for that whole day, just so I’m not tempted. Or, not AS tempted. Sometimes the sheer length of the boot sequence is enough to suppress a passing whim to fire it up.

I’ve got to do this, for my health and sanity. I’ve GOT TO. My body is nearing a state of atrophy, for crissakes. It’s time to get it off its ass and make it move.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    That’s a brave and noble goal, in which I support you 100%. (Ya don’t need a computer to call into the radio show, even!)

    Generally, I am not online in the evenings and weekends. That’s the only thing saving me from carpal tunnel. While at work, I can run a couple of windows and do some writing and etc etc – but I could never maintain as multifaceted an online presence as you do in just my working hours, that’s for sure! (Hence my reluctance to join Twitter and my continued boycott of Facebook. I can only manage so many online addictions at once.)

    Even then, though, vacations feel freakin’ WEIRD. Even if I pop on and quickly blog in the evenings a la GP, I still feel strangely unconnected and/or rustic. And that’s when I give myself the quizzically raised eyebrow and ask, “What up with THAT?”

    • Tiffany says:

      Heh. We just gotta let go of the fear that we’ll be “missing something” while we’re off line. It’s pretty much guaranteed that we WILL and ARE missing something.

  2. sherry says:

    You and me both lady. If you have any motivational ideas to actually implement this I’m all ears.

    Although for me, logging off at 5 is all but impossible because there’s too much going on during the day with the kids, though I do try to have my actual work done before I put the kids to bed. Mostly because once I get through the insanity that is bath time, snack time, and bed time I have about a -20 energy level for concentrating. If I was a Sims character my little energy bar would be depleted and my character would be sleeping on the floor. 😀

    • Tiffany says:

      Heh. I have Sims but I haven’t played in ages. I was kind of, “Uh, why am I spending so much time living the lives for these little people when I should be living my OWN?!?”

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    I can log off of the company computer at 5pm, but not my personal one. I don’t do much by way of personal stuff during the day on my work puter. I keep all of that stuff separate just so I don’t piss off anyone who signs my paycheck. I am fortunate to be able to move around a lot during the day, though. I hope you do get up and stretch your legs and back! Then I come home and make whatever dinner and junk and then log onto the personal one and sign out around 9 or so, depending. But most nights I don’t even turn on the tv so it is my little entertainment. Some weekends I only access my e-mail and networking site from my phone. I guess we’re never TOTALLY disconnected. 😀

    • Tiffany says:

      No, we’re never totally disconnected, but as long as we have some balance, get outside, remember there are real physical people out there wanting to slap eyes on us…

  4. Shelli says:

    You go girl! You can do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

