My not-so-secret love affair.

Posted: January 24, 2010 in best things, Food, Friends

Holy hell, I can’t even begin to describe how much I love food. LOVE food. LOVE.

I just got back from the Farmer’s Market in Ahwatukee. It’s right behind the Nello’s that Jen and I go to for lunch, as it happens. It runs every Sunday from 9:00 to 1:00 (in the winter, in the summer the hours are earlier), and this weekend was the weekend that I FINALLY got my ass over there, after MONTHS of saying “I will, I will, I’m gonna.” I kinda sorta didn’t feel like getting myself together to go this morning, but I did, and BOY am I glad that I did.

They have this thing where you walk to each vendor, pick out what you want, then they write the charge down on a slip of paper and reserve your stuff for you. Once you finish wandering through the market and accumulate the list of items on your slip of paper, you go to the payment booth and pay for everything all at once on your charge card (you can use cash and pay as you go at each vendor, too). Then once you pay you go back to the vendors you purchased from, show them your slip, and they give you your loot.

This is what forty dollars buys you at the Farmer’s Market:

marketloot

When I first got there I spied a produce stand and immediately picked out the radishes, spinach, and baby onions. A bit further on, I sampled the cider and had to have a bottle (it’s made weekly in Sedona!). A bit further on the spaghetti squash caught my eye, and I got the tomatoes and sample of microgreens at the same spot. The lady across the isle was giving out samples of the preserves, and the peach-blackberry absolutely rocked my world. Then I passed by the coffee vendor and stood inhaling for several moments before picking out a bag of French Roast for them to grind right there in front of me. A bit further down a lady was giving out samples of salsa, which I tasted and was impressed by the kick, so I picked out the hot sauce version. Around the corner from her I tried a sample of granola and declaired it the best damned granola I’ve ever eaten in my LIFE.

The only thing that stopped me from getting more stuff was the fact that I’d run out of rows on my little slip of paper. So I paid, wandered back through and stopped at each place to claim my loot, and drove back home.

I could barely wait long enough to set the stuff out and take that picture before making my lunch. I mixed up a tuna salad with mayo, spicy mustard, celery salt, pepper, and relish, and chopped up some of the green onion to throw in. I put the tuna salad on a potato bun, and topped it with slices of the fresh tomato and the microgreens.

Notice there is no picture of the sandwich. I INHALED that fucker, then went back and finished off the tuna salad and tomato by spooning tuna on top of the leftover halves of tomato and biting right in. SO FRIKKIN GOOD. I made a pig of myself – if one can make a pig of oneself with veggies and tuna. Well, I was HUNGRY. I hadn’t eaten breakfast – completely forgot to, as it turned out. No wonder I wanted to buy everything at the market.

The thing is, I was in such a great mood when I finished up at the Farmer’s Market, and it’s all because of how much I love food. I love shopping for food (especially when it’s someplace other than Ye Olde Grocery Store). I love preparing food. I love finding new recipes to try out, even if they don’t turn out so great (like the pasta sauce from scratch that I attempted last night – actually, I think it turned out the way it was supposed to, but it was too thin for our taste). Most especially, I love EATING food. Which is why I will never, EVER be skinny.

I’m going back next weekend. They have a crepe vendor, just like the place Heather and I went to last summer during my visit. Perhaps I can convince Bill to come – he’s not the Farmer’s Market type, but he IS the crepe type.

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    All that fresh produce looks really yummy! We have various farmers markets around town in the summer here too. But the granddaddy of them all is called the Eastern Market. It’s on the east side of Detroit. I get so overwhelmed when I go there because they have so many different kinds of produce, flowers, jams, jellies, fruits, nuts, dressings, breads and baked goods you would not believe! It’s about 2 square miles huge! I love it!

  2. Bill says:

    “but he IS the crepe type”
    Did you mean creep?

  3. Kimmothy says:

    I went out yesterday and bought a bunch of fresh fruit and veggies too – both of us are so happy when we have that stuff in the house; I’m curious as to why I don’t do it more often. But hopefully that’s changing. It’s about time I justify the expense of healthy food as opposed to how easily I do for unhealthy food.

  4. Kami-O says:

    UR 2 skinny u dork! Food is awesome, which is why i have a love/hate for it esp now that I’m in training! ~sigh~

  5. Shelli says:

    Wow, I look at that and all I can think is “boy that’s expensive!”. No wonder I don’t go to farmer’s markets or buy fresh foods (or even healthy foods, for that matter). They need to start making the healthy stuff inexpensive, and the affordable food better for you. It’s a shame in this country that so many people are fat & disease riddled (myself included) because we can’t afford to eat healthy. I have to admit I’m a bit envious of all the wonderful looking stuff you eat. 🙂

    • Tiffany says:

      It was a bit, but it wouldn’t be more expensive than the grocery store at ALL, if I stuck to veggies and fruits. I bought those “specialty” items that knocked up the bill.

  6. […] around with my new lens. Then Sunday, dammit, come hell or high water I AM getting back to the Farmer’s Market. Bill anticipates being home either very late Saturday night or Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

