Happy Fun Math

Posted: January 12, 2010 in 3P, goals, Maine, vacation

I’m doing math again, but in a happy fun way. I just did all of the budgeting and planning, and estimated everything very conservatively. After I checked, re-checked, and re-re-checked the numbers, I couldn’t be anything but shocked, and excited, and disbelieving. So I checked the numbers again. And now I’m convinced that I did the math right, and it’s not too good to be true.

It looks like I’ll be able to pay off FIVE accounts by the middle of April. Only slightly depending on this is the result of our tax return this year, but even if it comes in way less than we’re anticipating, we’ll still be able to pay off FIVE accounts. Only two of those FIVE accounts have a current balance of under $3000. Once those FIVE accounts are paid off, we will have a grand total of ONE account of unsecured debt that we will have left to pay off. Because all of those aforementioned FIVE accounts will be CLOSED after being paid off, thereby preventing us from racking them up again.

Man, it has been a long, hard road toward solvency. But we’ve managed to not ADD to our debt, pay a bit more than the minimums every month, save judiciously, and are benefited by the AcronymCo thrice-yearly bonus system. Plus a rad tax guy that makes good with the deductions. MAN, this will all be such a load off my shoulders, you have no idea. Well, yeah, probably you DO have an idea. Our circumstances are hardly unique in this day and age.

Bill’s gonna read this and instantly think, “Woo! New motorcycle!” I guar-an-tee.

What this all means is that I’ll be able to go into my sabbatical in a VERY relaxed frame of mind. I’ll have time enough to save up the funds needed for our vacation to Maine without adding anything to the credit card. I’ll only have to concentrate on writing and photography gigs for two months (maybe a little longer – I’m playing with the idea of tacking a week of vacation onto the sabbatical). We’ll be in terrific form going into August for Moto GP. Things, knock wood, are looking very up for 2010.

Bill’s gonna read this and instantly think, “Great, you just jinxed it!” I guar-an-tee.

———-
Positive: Everything that I wrote up there.

Productive: Tonight’s cleaning project – the bathroom. I cleaned the bedroom yesterday! The cleaning kick continues apace. What the hell is going on with me, lately? I’ve secretly been replaced with Folger’s Crystals!

Plan: T-bones for supper tonight, preceded by a bout on the elliptical and smacking myself in the head with free weights.

Comments
  1. dyskinesia says:

    I am positive lime-aid green with envy, but very, very happy for you guys! My son asked me last night what I wanted if I could ‘have’ anything; he was talking about what I could ‘buy’, but of course my instant thought was ‘out of debt.’ 😛

    Be sure you have a cubby hole carved out for GP $ too! Lord knows we would be in a lot better shape if we’d ever been able to do that. I’m *supposed* to be attempting to control myself better this year; what are the odds?!?

    • Tiffany says:

      I must confess I felt a little guilty when I hit “publish”, cuz the entry smacked of bragging, but then I was all, “Hell, we worked really effing HARD and it’s my journal, darnit!” 😀

      Since we’ve never done Moto GP before, I’ll have to ask your advice on the spendiness of the event. Tickets are paid for, you’ll have to remind me how much the room is going to be (e-mail me!), Southwest air looks like it’ll be decent to us on airfare… then, what? Rental car? Whiskey budget? Souvenirs?

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    +1 to Dys, holy CRAP that is fantastic news, and I hope hope hope that one day soon I’ll be able to say the same thing!!

    I’ll email you about the GP stuff; no need to bore the masses. 😀

    I won’t jinx you by congratulating you in advance. But I’ll start preparing to congratulate you. How’s that?

    • Tiffany says:

      Preparing to congratulate works well with our overactive sense of being suspicious that anything good that is planned will be jacked by some sort of karma the likes of which we can’t remember deserving.

  3. Shelli says:

    Wow, that’s great news! I haven’t owned a credit card since 1996, and yes, it feels great to know that you’re not in debt to any banks! Of course, I haven’t had a savings account since then, either … but at least I’m not paying 18 – 29% in interest on anything! 😉

  4. Calvin says:

    Well sure you jinxed it and I thought I was clear I want a vette!
    But then again a motor is cheaper, CycleTrader here I come 🙂

  5. Financial stability is the key to relaxation. It allowed me to not jump at the first chance thrown at me during the recent job crisis. But, I owe the lack of financial issues on the fact that my wife manages the money going out and I just work on handling the money coming IN.

  6. Jeanette says:

    My husband and I worked our asses off and sacrificed everything to pay off debt from a failed business. It took a few years but we managed to do it. Now we only have two credit cards, we use minimally and pay them off every month. It was well worth it for the peace of mind we have now. Hang in there!

  7. […] so yeah. Yay. FML. That’s going to require some creative budgeting. Not enough to derail our debt payment plan altogether, but it will require some adjustment. Ah, well, I’m nothing if not flexible. […]

  8. […] on Friday. Our return isn’t going to be as much as we were hoping for – so, while our goals are still right on track, I won’t be able to buy the new camera and lens I was hoping to get. […]

Leave a Reply

