A productive Sunday.

Posted: January 10, 2010 in Family, Home, kids, pets, weekend

Well, the Patriots are out of the running. The Cardinals are playing right now (at home) and just scored against the Packers. We shall see. An interesting phenomenon that I observed while cleaning the kitchen and listening to the game in the background: Arizona is a state of such transient population that you can’t really tell by the crowd noise which way the game is going, when listening to an Arizona home game. There’s always nearly as many fans for the opposing team as for the Cardinals.

I’ve had a ridiculously productive day. I got up at a not-so-decent hour (10:30), did some BMP work, and made us grilled cheese and chicken noodle soup for lunch. Then I soaked the snake (she’s getting ready to shed), soaked each beardie and fed them worms, did three loads of laundry, and thoroughly cleaned the kitchen. INCLUDING washing the coffee urn, knife block, decorative bottles, and the knobs on the stove. It’s like I had that bottle of 409 in my hand and let it lead me where it wanted. I seldom get in these cleaning kicks – I’d rather just let everything get entirely away from me and alternately bemoan the state of the household from my comfortable seat on the couch, or bully Bill into spending a couple of hours with me on a top-to-bottom cleaning frenzy (which happens, oh, about once a month).

Probably what got it started was Amanda, last night. She took her dog to the bark park, where she (the dog, not Amanda) ended up smelling like ass. So she gave Porcha (Porche? Portia? I don’t know how she spells that dog’s name) a bath. And then decided, why have one clean dog, when you could have three? So she gave Gadget and Gypsy baths, AND replaced the cushion in their outside crate, AND washed the cushion in their inside crate. Then she sat on the loveseat and snuggled Gadget for a couple of hours. You’ve never seen a happier dog in the universe – he was in ECSTASY, since being allowed up on the couch (wrapped in an old robe – he’s old and gets cold easily) is a very rare treat indeed. Don’t think Gypsy suffered, either – she got cookies and pats and was wiggling with chubby Beagle-y joy.

Anyway. I need to deep clean every corner of this house, and I’m hoping the cleaning kick lasts long enough for me to take it one room each day. Today the kitchen, tomorrow the bedroom! Such lofty goals I have, I don’t know how you guys can stand watching me set myself up for failure.

Bill and I went over to Robert and Joy’s apartment last night to watch football. Joy was at work, and Robert played host to the hilt. I think he asked me four times if I’d like some wine. 😀 (It calls for a smiley, you guys know I’m frugal with the smileys.) It’s a very nice place, very roomy with vaulted ceilings and very tastefully decorated. I’m crediting Joy on the decorating; I love my son, but I’m pretty sure his decorating style leans more toward Playboy cut-outs and motorcycle posters, rather than votive candles and ivy. At any rate, I’m proud of them both – Robert had a rough start there for a while, and there were times (like this one, and this one) when we mourned him ever figuring out how to live life responsibly. Joy is really good for Robert and I love her to death. She cracks me up how she doesn’t let Robert get away with SHIT – just the kind of girl he needs. Heh. They’re both a lot of fun to hang out with, and it’s gratifying how well our relationships have developed – changed, but just as rewarding, now that Robert is an adult.

At any rate! Robert and Joy are on their way over now to join their voices to ours, hollering at the Cardinals game (in a good way, so far). I’ve got a Bridgeport IPA in a frosty glass, and Bill just made some taquitos. Life is good.

Happy Sunday, all!

Comments
  1. Shelli says:

    Has anyone ever mentioned that you live in a zoo? 😉 I’ve been on a bit of a cleaning kick lately, too. Not as intense as yours, but intense for ME, since it takes everything out of me to be able to clean just a little bit. I’m sure I’m driving my Son and Hubby up a wall, though, ’cause I’m barking at them for messing up what I just cleaned. Men. *sigh*

    • Tiffany says:

      Why yes, they HAVE, now that you mention it! ~grin~ Yeah, Bill just kind of sat on the couch all day yesterday, so I guess my actions weren’t motivation enough for him to feel guilty and help me.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Sorry, I got to “soaked the snake” and my inner 12-year-old took over to snicker endlessly.

  3. Amanda says:

    What are taquitos?

    • Tiffany says:

      They’re like tacos that are rolled up into a tube, rather than folded in half. See the Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taquito

      • Shelli says:

        They are the best things in the world! Check your local Walmart, in the frozen section, near the burritos, and you should find a variety of types to suit any taste. Then get some sour cream and your favorite hot sauce (mine is the Taco Bell hot sauce, sold in the “latin foods” aisle). Dip first in sour cream, then hot sauce, and enjoy! Yum!

  4. I SOOOOOOOOO hate hit that I am not the first to get here about “soaking the snake.”

Leave a Reply

