Thwarted

Posted: January 6, 2010 in 3P, Food, work

I’m doing some mental math and coming up short. See, I get up every morning at 6:00 a.m. and need to be at work at 7:00. Most mornings find me scurrying to get everything done that I need to do – water the dogs, feed the cats, chop up greens and feed the lizards, pack my lunch, plus shower, and dig through the closet for something to wear, and primp. I consistently stroll in the door at AcronymCo at 7:05.

That five extra minutes was bugging me, so with the new year I started trying to get more done the night before, so that I’d have less to take care of in the morning. Last night I filled up the dog’s water, chopped greens and stuck them in a baggie so all I would have to do is dump them in the dish in the lizard’s tank, put my lunch together in its sack in the refrigerator, and laid out my clothes. The only thing I had to do this morning was roll out of bed, dump a can of cat food in the cat’s dishes, let the dogs out, dump the greens, then grab my coffee and get ready.

I strolled into work at 7:06. I didn’t have to pack my lunch, or chop greens, or fill the dog’s water, or dig for clothes. So why wasn’t I earlier to work? I can’t figure it. It’s bugging me.

———-

Positive: I made a fantastic potato broccoli cheese soup for dinner last night (recipe is up on World Famous Nosh) and I brought leftovers for lunch today.

Productive: Working through lunch on some stuff for Beyond Megapixels and UpTake. It seems to be working out well for me to use my lunch hour at AcronymCo for my writing gigs.

Plan: I have meetings galore today so I won’t be able to walk the circumference of the campus like I wanted to. So, cardio (and some light weights) tonight, plus I’m going to make some updates to the Sandstone website so that tomorrow night will be free to dial into Taoist Biker’s radio show.

Comments
  1. sherry says:

    I think it’s the same phenomenon that made me rush like a crazy person when I was a teen and worked at the video store. It was just up the street from my parents’ place, all of a five minute walk away. Because it was so close I almost ALWAYS let myself have the false security of having plenty of time so I’d move too slowly until I looked at the clock and I’d end up almost literally running up the street to make sure I didn’t punch in after my shift had started.

    I rushed far less when I had a longer commute at all my subsequent jobs.

    • Tiffany says:

      I have a five-minute commute, so that probably explains why I’m always a few minutes late. If I lived an hour away I’d be 20 minutes early every day!

  2. Dyskinesia says:

    Getting all that done the night before was GREAT for your mental health in the morning so that you don’t have to rush. Now the trick is to work your math backwards. Figure out what time you have to be IN.THE.CAR. and pulling out of the drive to be there at 6:55 (puts you in your chair at 7:00). Then, if you need to, back it up *5 minutes (oops, I forgot my sunglasses, etc.) and that time is your AIS time = Ass In Seat. Operate on your AIS time, and you’ll do better.

    *Unless you have ADD like me, then back it up half an hour, as my husband will tell you. ­čśŤ

    AIS blatantly borrowed from Erin Moore, at http://www.soimarriedanadder.com

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    The real bitch is when you leave 10 minutes early, and get there 20 minutes early. Leave 5 minutes early, get there at the same time. *facepalm*

    Woohoo for clearing the schedule for lil ol’ me, tho! ­čÖé

Leave a Reply

