Also, proactive.

Posted: January 2, 2010 in Blogthings, Headspace

I’m starting a new blog project. I’ve come to realize that the only real, true way to manage my depression and anxiety, if I choose to go the drug-free route, is to be proactive. I am responsible for my own mental health, and just like my physical health, it requires that I take steps on a daily basis to maintain and support it.

Thus, the 3P Project:

P #1 – Recognize what was Positive about my day. There are things – tiny things, or big things – about each and every day that are positive. I need to recognize them for what they are, no matter how simple or insignificant they may seem. By recognizing the positive I can stop focusing on the negative.

P #2 – Be Productive, in some way, every day. Just because I get up and go to work, or “get stuff done”, or barely keep up with the daily chores, does not mean I’m being productive. Productivity doesn’t have to be huge – it can be making a phone call I’ve been putting off, or making a recipe that’s languished in my “to try” pile. Just something that I can say, “There. That’s done now.” It always makes me feel so much better when I’ve accomplished something, and I don’t know why my productivity has languished for so long.

P #3 – Make a Plan. By having a plan, I keep anxiety at bay. So I will make a plan for each day. Nothing hugely specific or detailed to the hour or something inflexible. Just small steps or tasks or even indulgences that will help me keep my momentum going.

These are the things that I know work for me. You are the gentle snowflakes who get to be tortured by this, my latest idea for supporting my mental health. You lucky things. Feel free to adopt it yourselves, if you’d like.

Comments
  1. I like this a lot. It is very similar to the way I snapped out of whatever I was “in” for a long time. I have a theory about “control.” And that a person does a lot of good by controlling things for themselves (drug-free is an individual decision.) I tell people to start with small things…and let it grow from there. I am no sage…but it worked for me.

    • Tiffany says:

      Thanks. I too am a believer in “baby steps”. A bunch of small positives add up until, before you know it, I’m sane and well-adjusted. Um, yeah, I’m probably getting a little ahead of myself, here…

  2. Kimmothy says:

    Wow, great minds really DO think alike. I bought a new date book/calendar/diary thingie yesterday (one of my favorite things in the world) and decided every day I was writing down something positive that happened. I used to do it all the time and it does help to keep things in perspective, no matter how small.

    • Tiffany says:

      We’re geniuses I tell ya! I love those little date books, too, but I buy ’em and never use ’em, so I gave up buying ’em and now I just let it all hang out over here. You’re welcome.

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    YAY!!!

    But…I don’t need to adopt it, I do it. You know that. 🙂

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Me likey. Veddy much.

    I’m always up for supporting friends’ mental health. Although I’ll never swear to resist the temptation to egg on a good old-fashioned insane rant every now and again. It’s good for a body, I sw’ars it…

Leave a Reply

