Auld Lang Buzz

Posted: January 1, 2010 in drrrrrunk, Holiday

You guys. It’s 8:30 in the morning and I still have a buzz. This does NOT bode well for the rest of the day. I’m eating toast and praying that helps to keep a 1:00 p.m. hangover away. You know that half-anxious feeling you get when you know you’re too drunk and there’s going to be shit to pay at some point? Yeah, I got that.

We got to the bar at about 7:30 last night (it took the cab an HOUR to come pick us up, which is probably a good thing because that’s one less hour I spent shoving vodka shots down my pie hole). I had a beer with a very healthy-sized steak dinner, then had a Bacardi Peach drink that the bartender made up on the spot when I said that I didn’t know what I wanted. Then I had another one. THEN the bartender cracked out a brand-new bottle of Stoli Elit. I had a shot of that which went down like water. Then I had a cherry vodka Red Bull. And another cherry vodka Red Bull. And another shot of Elit.

(Edited at 4:00 to add: Bill just reminded me that I also had two glasses of champagne AND a jello shot. No wonder I feel like complete shit.)

During all of this massively inadvisable drinking, I chair-danced to the music (“I’m so two thousand and eight, you’re so two thousand and wait“) and texted EVERYBODY. Repeatedly. I texted Heather while she was playing drunken Wii. I texted my sister, who doesn’t even have a text-capable phone. I texted Robert and Amanda with lyrics of the song that was playing at the time. I texted with Joss. I normally HATE texting, but last night I was a texting whore.

We called for a cab home at about 12:30. And… wow. I don’t remember much beyond punching the code into the garage door keypad. I threw a $20 at the cab driver for a $7.00 fare. And, really, I hope he made out like a bandit last night. He should get hazard pay for cabbing on New Year’s Eve. Apparently the animals got fed last night because there was an open empty can of dog food sitting on the kitchen counter. Somehow I lost part of the heel on my pumps and didn’t notice that I was listing to the left last night? Our clothes are all over the bedroom, and most of my make-up is still on my face, just not where I originally applied it. I THINK we fooled around last night but I’m not sure how that all worked out. I’ll have to remember to ask Bill when he regains consciousness. The lights and TV were still on in the living room when I got up – I vaguely remember getting the spins when I laid down in bed, so I got back up and watched TV for a while. Couldn’t tell you WHAT I watched, just THAT I watched.

So. Wow. Yeah. I haven’t had that much to drink in a loooooong time, and I doubt I’ll be doing any drinking of any sort for a loooooong time. It’s maybe TOO liberating to take a cab to and from the bar.

Pray for me, guys. Happy New Year!!!

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Okay. All I want to know is WHY were you up at 8:30 in the morning on a holiday following so much crazy drinking?? I only had a few drinks, wasn’t even tipsy, and even I didn’t crawl out of bed until 9:30. LOL.

    Hope you are feeling better and managed to avoid a hangover, but it sounds like you had an awesome time! Any pictures of you in your new outfit and your new ‘do? Which did you buy – the red or black?

    Happy New Year, Tiffany!

    • Tiffany says:

      I can never sleep in after a night of heavy drinking, when I’m hung over. I have no idea why. Being hungover makes me… twitchy.

      No pics of the outfit yet (got the black), but Bill did snap a pic of my haircut today. I’ll post it soon!

      Happy New Year, Amanda!

  2. Calvin says:

    Well about the only thing you didn’t do was pick your gum out of a puke filled toilet!
    I’m sorry I didn’t bring the camera 🙂

  3. Shelli says:

    Sounds like you two would be fun to hang out with!! LOL HOW’S THE HANGOVER?! Oops, sorry, was I yelling? 😉

  4. Kimmothy says:

    I hate, hate, HATE that twitchy hangover feeling. And I always get up early after a night like that too, because God hates me.

  5. Taoist Biker says:

    Sober yet? 🙂

    I get up and get going because the only thing that will improve it is getting hydrated and getting something in my stomach…so might as well start sooner than later. But I have enough sense to avoid the vodka, at least.

    • Tiffany says:

      Man, I wasn’t feeling right until Saturday morning.

      I hydrate and take aspirin, but I can NOT do the hair of the dog thing. Just thinking about it makes me want to barf. WHICH I didn’t end up having to do, surprisingly enough.

Leave a Reply

