Hands touching hands.

Posted: December 30, 2009 in best things, booze, Family, Food, Holiday, Home, movies, Music, vacation, Video

I just got supremely stressed out over something, so I’m going to recover by writing. Just not about the thing that stressed me out. Which was stupid and minor (mostly, though it didn’t seem so at the time) and now I feel kind of dumb. Onward!

I just got back from having lunch with Jen, her husband Bobby, and baby Oliver(!) (can’t write his name without wanting to add the exclamation point). We noshed out at CPK, got caught up on books and movies and work gossip, had some Red Velvet Cake (NOM), and I had to physically restrain myself from chomping on Oliver’s cheeks. Dem cheeks are sinful, yes dey are. No pictures, alas, but next visit I’ll have the camera!

I’m having a quiet week at home, doing some work for Beyond Megapixels and UpTake, but mostly relaxing and reading and watching TV. I’m alternating between a couple of books at the moment. The first is Youth in Revolt by C.D. Payne, which was thrust upon me (in a good way!) by Taoist Biker and Dyskinesia. I read about fifty pages at a time, and then take a break – those of you who know me well “IRL” can testify to the fact that another person’s embarrassment is physically painful to ME. The main character, Nick, winds up in so many uncomfortable scenes that I find myself trying to read the book the way I watch a movie or TV show in which the main character is painfully embarrassed by his or her behavior or circumstances – through my fingers and groaning loudly enough to block out the dialogue, or eyes tightly shut with my fingers stuffed in my ears. Hard to do, and ineffective, when reading a book. So when my tolerance for train-wreckitude reaches its pinnacle, I set it aside for a while (it’s being made into a movie, by the way, and there is NO WAY the script can even distantly match the book – it’d never get past the sensors for even the “R” rating it’s currently being advertised under). I then turn to one of my Christmas presents from Heather, Stephen King’s Duma Key. I’m not too far in, yet, but so far I’m really liking it. I feel for the main character and got ROYALLY PISSED at his wife for leaving him under such circumstances. When I can be moved to a visceral response while reading a book, it usually winds up getting a two-thumbs-up rating from me.

Bill and I have watched “The Hangover” (loved it!) and “Four Christmases” (eh), both of which I watched mostly through my fingers (see above). Amanda got me “White Christmas” on DVD for Christmas, and got Bill “Call of Duty: Modern Warfare” for the X-Box. The joint present to us from Amanda, Robert, and Joy was a set of Milagro tequilas (blanco (silver), anejo, and reposado) in very fancy blown-glass bottles. The prime rib that I made for Christmas dinner came out incredibly well, and I wrote up the recipe/method and posted it on World Famous Nosh. We had the leftovers for dinner the next night and it was just as good, if not better, than the first night. You’ve gotta know it’s good when Bill willingly and enthusiastically eats leftovers.

I’ve got a hair appointment tomorrow – getting long layers cut into the length of my hair, and a top-weave of highlights and lowlights. I am then going to indulge in the purchase of an outfit I saw at New York and Company during a recent visit to the mall (this one to be precise, and what do you think, red or black?). Bill and I are going to a New Year’s Eve blowout party extravaganza at The Sandstone and I want to look fancy and pretty. We’re taking a cab to and from, so that we can both indulge in whatever cocktails end up getting thrown our way – the “regulars” are the “buy everybody a round!” type of folks. Plus for $25 a person we can have a steak dinner with baked potato, vegetable, and a salad, plus two drinks of our choice, AND a champagne toast at midnight. A right good deal, I think!

Finally, my good friend Trish sent me a mix CD that I’ve been playing the heck out of for the past few days. One of the songs is the version of Heart’s “Alone” as performed by Kristin Chenoweth and Matthew Morrison from an episode of “Glee”. Which I may have to start watching, now, because every clip I’ve seen of the show has been adorable, or wonderful, or fun, or lovely. Look:

(Not the best quality, you can watch it on Hulu for better quality.)

Yeah, this show is full of “awwwww!” I’m gonna have to pick up Season One on DVD. Anybody else watching it?

Happy New Year’s Eve Eve!

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    What a gorgeous dress! Especially considering that you are wearing it to a New Year’s Eve bash, I’d say the red! It’s festive!

    If you need to bounce any stressful things off someone, you have my email! 🙂

  2. Shelli says:

    A lot to comment on today! 😉 Yes, I imagine it would be a bit difficult to read through fingers and closed eyes. LOL You’ll love Duma Key. I read it last summer, and it was another win for SK. I’m so glad he didn’t retire after his accident!

    That sounds like a great dinner deal. I am partial to the color black, so my opinion is a bit biased. Never having seen you in person, and judging by personality only, I’d say you’re a “red” person. 😉

    I wanted to watch Glee when it first came out, but it conflicted with 2 other shows that I watch, and I don’t have a DVR. I’m so old school, I still use my VCR to record one show, while I watch another on the one TV we have in the house. I guess I’ll have to go research Hulu to see if they have all the episodes from the beginning. The clips you posted are great! Speaking of … when I read the title of your blog from my RSS reader, I immediately started singing “Sweet Caroline”. Am I a dork, or what?! 😀

    • Tiffany says:

      Duma Key is the first official King book I’ve read – I read some of his Bachman short stories a long time ago.

      I just lightened my hair, so I went with the black since I thought it looked better. I’ll post a pic soon!

      You still have a VCR??? 😀 Hulu does have Glee, but not from the beginning. I think I’ll rent the DVD’s when they come out. And Sweet Caroline has been stuck in my head for DAYS. 😀

  3. iamheatherjo says:

    I’m glad you kids are cabbing it and I hope you have a “most excellent time”.

    I’m so excited that you’re reading Duma Key and I’m looking forward to an email or phone call when you’re done so we can chat about it. Oh! And another one after you finish IT!

    You know you can’t say something about being supremely stressed out about something and then NOT tell me about it! Ahem! I have IRL Priviledges, you know!

    • Tiffany says:

      Took the cab an hour to get to us!!! I love having someone to talk to about a book, so count on that phone call. And I’ll talk to ya about the stressful stuff, though I’d much rather hear all about YOU and your furry kids and all the positive stuff!

  4. Kimmothy says:

    I want to see an “After” picture of the new hair!
    Glee is by-far my new favorite. I know you and I tend to veer on TV shows, but trust me, you will love it.
    I hope you guys have an awesome time tonight!

    • Tiffany says:

      Coming soon to a blog near you! Bill took a pic of it today. I love love LOVE it.

      I downloaded the first episode of Glee and I thought it was just about the sweetest little show. I love the instant gratification of iTunes!

Leave a Reply

