All over the map.

Posted: December 21, 2009 in best things, Bring the funny, Food, goals, Health/Fitness, Video

I don’t really have a whole hell of a lot to write about, but I figured I ought to put something between the sticky and that last drama-queenie post I did. LESS THAN THREE HUNDRED HITS TO GO, PEOPLE, watch the stats and All This Could Be Yours! (All what? Well, I dunno. I’m not picking out the gifts until I know who wins.)

———-

I think we actually have A Plan, you guys. A Plan to get the hell out of Arizona and get back to the East Coast. A Plan to simplify and downsize and regain day-to-day happiness in our lives. The Plan is thus:

1. Pay down our debt, a chunk of which is happening right off the bat within the first few months of the new year. The remainder is scheduled to be decreased in steady succession throughout 2010, so that at this time next year we should be doing grand. If we stick to the plan. WE ARE STICKING TO THE PLAN.

2. Secure positions in our current companies for the branches that exist in Massachusetts. Handily enough, both AcronymCo and Bill’s company have branches that are within 40 miles of each other in MA. If we can get jobs there we can keep the tenure and pay scale that we currently enjoy. It would make it SO much easier to move if we can stay with our current jobs. I’ve put a bug in my boss’ ear for him to start making inquiries, and I’ve asked Bill to do the same.

3. Make a decision on the house in Arizona. Sell it, or rent it out? I say sell – the money would come in handy (assuming the housing market is turned around by the time we want to pull the trigger on all of this), and I don’t particularly want any ties left in Arizona (except for the kids, assuming they don’t follow us back east). Bill would feel more comfortable keeping the house, though. Fortunately it’s a decision that can wait a while.

Three steps seems overly simple to uproot our lives and move across the country. But you know, I believe that it CAN be as simple as that, if we have a little faith and put forth the effort one day at a time. Massachusetts isn’t Maine, but it’s practically Maine, and I’d feel a whole lot better being a two hour car drive from home, rather than an eight-hour-and-two-layover plane ride home. I’ve always loved Boston (except for driving in it, which I suspect I’ll get used to) and would thoroughly enjoy exploring all over the state – the Freedom Trail and Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard… plus, just the sheer number of historical sites throughout the state is enough to get me all excited. Then there’s the proximity to New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, the ocean, Canada. Yep, Massachusetts will do me juuuuust fine.

———-

Bill and I found ourselves with the lack of desire to watch football yesterday (Cardinals won, but in the process pissed us both off so badly that we declared a moratorium on football for the rest of the day). It being Sunday afternoon, there wasn’t much of nuthin’ on, so I decided not to wait until Christmas to give “us” the joint-present I picked out, which is the Looney Tunes Golden Collection Volume One and Volume Two. We watched all of Disc One and part of Disc Two of Volume One and enjoyed such classics as:

And:

And:

If you don’t have the sets I highly recommend them. The restoration is excellent and there’s some really cool special features.

———-

Bwuff. I’m still full from yesterday. I made Bill (and myself) an Extra! Special! Sunday! Morning! Breakfast! consisting of scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, biscuits and gravy, and bacon. Then at lunchtime we snacked on Buffalo Chicken Dip with tortilla chips and celery sticks. Then for dinner we each had a heaping bowl of Crock Pot Chili with shredded cheddar and sour cream and potato rolls. We’ve both decided that we’re going to take control of our eating habits (in the way of improving them, that is) after the holidays are over. Which means we have twelve days left to not worry a damned thing about what we’re stuffing into our pie-holes. New Year’s Day is the traditional Munchies Extravaganza in which I prepare a bunch of finger foods and snacks to set out and pick at all the live-long day. Then it will be back to figuring out how to fit, you know, actual fruits and vegetables back into our meals. Bill’s high blood pressure aint’ doing that great, and my waist is expanding at a rate faster than the universe. Fortunately, it won’t take that long to get back into the habit of taking better care of ourselves.

In somewhat related news (and prompted by TB’s 15 Seconds of LOL), has anyone tried out those new Reebok Easy Tone sneakers, or the similar Shape Up shoes offered by Sketchers? Also, I want one of these.

Still. It’s NOT a New Year’s Resolution, DAMMIT. Our renewed interest in improving our health just happens to coincide with the calendar flip.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    THIS is a close-up?!?!??

    GAWD I love Volume 1! I also have Vol 4 but not 2 or 3 yet. YET.

    I hope your Big Plan works to perfect fruition for you!

    • Tiffany says:

      Dude. Were you just, like, WAITING for me to hit “publish”? You commented not thirty seconds after the post went up! Looney Tunes is a never-fail way for me to get all cheered up and goofy. I can’t even begin to describe how happy I am that those guys got together in Termite Terrace and cranked out such a VAST quantity of perfection.

  2. Shelli says:

    Thanks for the videos, I needed that laugh this morning. 🙂

    I’d be interested in that incline thingy, but only if it came with Jillian Michaels! 😉 I have the biggest crush on her!

    Thought to ponder: if you keep the house in AZ, who will take care of the upkeep for tenants? Living in a rental, I can tell you that at least 3-4 times a year, we’re calling the owner for something that needs fixed, or some emergency.

    • Tiffany says:

      You’re welcome! Looney Tunes never fails. I must admit, I do NOT have a crush on Ms. Michaels. Really, she just pisses me off. I think it’s directly related to how much I had the 30 Day Shred, effective as it is.

      See, that’s why I want to sell the house. I don’t want to be beholden to a tenant to make sure things don’t break.

  3. crisitunity says:

    I don’t want to burst your bubble, or dent it, or do anything to it, but…Massachusetts ain’t Maine. I’ve lived in one and visited the other and they have very different vibes. I’m just saying, think it over and VISIT before you take such a huge step.

  4. You know that “Home” is what you make of it…there are jewels everywhere. Your state of mind is the key to everything.

    Sometimes a change of scenery can be an amazing way to shake things up…

    Oh…Bring your winter clothes.

    • Tiffany says:

      😀 I’ve been told quite often to “grow where I’m planted”. I just can’t grow in Arizona. I can’t even get the roots down through the caliche. A change of scenery is JUST what we need. And, noted, winter clothes currently boxed will be unboxed before they’re required.

  5. Dyskinesia says:

    My boss has the actual original spendy MBT shoes and looooves them. She’s fit as hell anyway and still says that she can really feel them working her core muscles just standing in them. She wears them for walks between daily and a couple of times a week. She said that people complained of the Sketchers falling apart too quickly (haven’t seen the Reeboks yet) and that the MBTs could be resoled (I want to say for $50, but don’t count on me to remember anything correctly that has a number in it).

    Must.Not.Click.Toons.Must.Work.Must.Work.Must.Damn.It!

  6. ellessu says:

    I was in your opposite situation. Hubs and I moved out to the MA facility you’re speaking of and we did everything possible to get back to AZ (I am a wimp in regards to cold weather). I think if we had lived closer to the city, it might not have been so bad, but central MA can be a bit of a wasteland. I do miss being so close to NYC, Philly, Portsmouth and all the roadside farmers markets.

    Good luck with getting back to the East Coast!

  7. jadesymb says:

    you should get these shoes instead: http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/indexNA.cfm

    and read Born to Run!

  8. suzy2110 says:

    Good luck with whatever you decide on the move- obviously I know nothing about any of these places, having only ever visited Chicago, but I am sure it will all work out. I think a lot of us are planning on sorting the whole expanding waistline in the New Year- hangs head in shame… 😀

  9. iamheatherjo says:

    I’d LOVE to visit Mass-a-two-shits!!! (Force of habit to say it that way, The Big Stupid Biker had trouble saying Massachusetts and it always came out that way.) Anyway, it’s amazing how simple it actually can be to uproot your life and move across the country when you are truly ready to go. You watched me do it pretty quickly, yes? And if a moron like me can do it, well, I’m positive TWO of you working towards this can make it work.

    I wouldn’t want to rent the house either. You’d be constantly worried about what was going on back in AZ with it and I can’t imagine the headache of orchestrating repairs from such a distance. Eeesh.

    • Tiffany says:

      You are my role model when it comes to up and moving away, Heather! (Also, AHEM, don’t be calling my best friend a moron!) And you’d be the first person we’d make come stay with us, while we all explore the place.

  10. Amanda says:

    SIGH. Neal doesn’t seem to appreciate Looney Tunes!

Leave a Reply

