Today is a good day.

Posted: December 16, 2009 in best things, Friends, Giveaway, movies, work

Hey gang!  Less than a thousand hits to go before we hit 100,000!

As an aside, Bill commented back when I first posted The Contest that 100,000 hits doesn’t seem to be that many, since I’ve been on-line for going on ten years. So I reminded him that the contest is for 100,000 hits on the WordPress version of Snerkology, which was launched in January of 2008. There’s over 106,000 hits as of this morning per the stats meter at Snerkology.com (which still gets traffic, strangely enough), plus the 56,000 hits Snerkology on Blogger had before I defuncted (?) it.

So. Not the most popular blog on the ‘net, as far as hits go, but I’m proud of my little website.

———-

Heather got a new furry friend and I couldn’t be happier! It has actually been worrying me that she didn’t have a dog. She’s the bestest doggie mommy a pup could ever have, and she’s just the kind of person who belongs with a dog, if you know what I mean. After Jasper passed, Heather needed a lot of time to try to recover – that good boy wasn’t just a pet, he was family! Then she met a few puppies, but they didn’t seem quite right for her. She took her time and eventually found Jack, and I’m so glad she did! He seems to be just right for her. And he’s just chock full o’ cute, see?

Just Jack!

I’m so happy for you, Heather!!!

———-

Well! After a crap-crap-crapTASTIC couple of months, we’ve gotten a wee bit of good news around here, all courtesy of my illustrious employer. First, it looks like I’ll be up for a small raise this coming year. Every little bit helps, and after not getting a raise for a couple of years (thanks a LOT, economy), I’m glad to see things turning around. To me, the bigger picture – evidence of an improved economy and company health – means more to me than a few extra bucks in my paycheck. Um… I’ll still take the money, though. kthx.

Second, I won a four-pack of movie tickets courtesy of AcronymCo’s “Great Place to Work” team. They’re good for any movie at any Harkins, so I’m left with a fun little dilemma. Avatar, or Sherlock Holmes? Blue sci-fi character goodness, or pipe smoking Robert Downey Jr. goodness? Decisions, decisions.

Third, the AcronymCo Head Cheese announced a corporate-wide “Thank You” bonus this morning, which came as a complete surprise to all of us, to be distributed before the Christmas holiday. Not enough to pay off all of our debt and move to Hawaii, to be sure, but still a nice morale boost and a handy sum to get us through the holidays. I like working for a company that doesn’t forget that it owes its success to its employees.

Plus, you know, there’s the whole 172 days until my sabbatical thing. (Snoopy dance!)

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’m so glad you got some good news! You certainly deserve some.

    I vote Sherlock Holmes. That movie looks pretty good to me. Avatar – I dunno. It looks visually fantastic, but I worry that it might become Transformers-ish in that it looks so good we forgot to give it a plot.

    And finally, just for the sake of comparison, you can prod Bill and tell him that my WP site opened in August ’07 and as of this moment has 51,664 views. To which I say with only the barest hint of jealousy: BRAVO, madam!

    *Pigpen dance*

    • Tiffany says:

      Aww, thanks!

      I worry that Cameron won’t recoup his 500 MILLION DOLLARS. Yeesh.

      I believe I had comparable stats myself, two years into the launch of Snerkology. It’s not about quantity, it’s about quality!

  2. iamheatherjo says:

    Does the four-pack have to be used all on one movie? Can’t you and Bill go see both movies? If not, I’d totally vote for Sherlock Holmes because Robert Downey Jr. is the hotness.

    Thank you for the kind words. It’s weird being around a wittul puppy guy again. In some ways it makes me miss Jasper even more, but then it is hard not to laugh when Jack looks at me upside down with all four paws up in the air. Kinda cuts the weepies off at the pass. 😀

    • Tiffany says:

      It doesn’t, but my brain always adds the kids to these kinds of activities, even though they’re grown and we’re not responsible for their entertainment anymore. I wonder if we can get away with using ALL of the tickets on OURSELVES???

      Keep posting puppy pictures!!!

  3. Shelli says:

    I suddenly feel like a 7th grader. I’m all “I’m friends with a popular kid! Yay me!”. LOL

    As visually appealing as Avatar looks, and of course it’s James Cameron (gonna be good, duh!), I would have to vote for Sherlock Holmes, too. I’m with Heather, though, why not use the 4 pack for both movies?

    I’m suddenly picturing a Griswold xmas, with the whole bonus thing. If you start daydreaming while looking out your back window, and the cat gets fried under the tree, and [gasp!] relatives start showing up in RVs … well, I suggest you brace yourself for a possible subscription to a Jelly of the Month Club. Just sayin’! 😉

  4. Jeanette says:

    Glad you got a little something from your company. My company, instead of giving raises this year, gave us a one-time bonus that was hacked practically in half after taxes..and insurance premiums are going up so my check will actually go down after the first of the year. But I digress and am thankful to be gainfully employed!

    • Tiffany says:

      Yep, our bonus was cut in almost exact half, too. Damn The Man! And our insurance is going up a bit, too. So much for controlling health care expenses, Obama!

  5. Kimmothy says:

    I agree with TB about the movie thing – I’m not sure why I have a red flag in my head going on about Avatar. And RDJ NEVER disappoints, just by standing there and smiling!
    Glad to hear some good news workwise – I got my holiday bonus today too; a box of chocolates, Forest Gump style!

    • Tiffany says:

      We’ll probably end up going to see it – they’re playing it at our local IMAX in 3D, which might be fun. Not that I agree with the whole 3D bandwagon, mind.

      I like chocolates…

  6. Shelli says:

    Saw this and thought of you. 😉

Leave a Reply

