Mellow.

Posted: December 15, 2009 in Food, Holiday

As of 10:30 this morning, my Christmas shopping was officially done. Originally I was getting everything through Amazon, but even though they CLAIM that I have “Two! Days! Left! For Super! Saver! Shipping!” for my packages to arrive before Christmas, they were lying liars with all the lies. Two of the four items I was ordering would have arrived AFTER Christmas, so I nixed those two and ordered the others, then went to the mall to pick up the remaining items. I was in and out in a half-hour, INCLUDING parking-and-walking time. The mall is a quiet place at 10:00 on a Tuesday morning, it seems. The sit-on-Santa’s-lap line was pretty long, though.

I’ve gotta say, even though I kinda miss the whole Pile O’ Presents Gift Opening Extravaganza we used to have when the kids were little, I really prefer things as they are today. We’re all grown-ups, so each of the kids gets one wrapped present and a card with money – otherwise, it’s about the food, and the visiting, and being in a good mood. It’s a much more relaxed way to spend Christmas, I think. Jesus would approve.

———-

If you’re looking for Christmas treats to make for your family, might I recommend the following:

Magic Cookie Bars (Hi, Heather! I think of you whenever I make these!)

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies (Lovely! The best chocolate chip cookies! With pudding in them, even!)

Food for the Gods (A rather ostentatious name for a simple date and nut bar. Never made ’em before but they look and sound awesome, so I’m adding them to the roster!)

The cookies in the thumbnail picture are Hershey Kiss Cookies, by the way. I’m not making them this year, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t!

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    Oh! I forgot to tell you, be watching your mail and/or delivery guy. You have something coming from me and I’m always nervous after the cds had that trip from Hell last time!

  2. Megan says:

    I love stockings. I mean the ones that get opened on Christmas morning. When everyone is all grown up, I will miss the stockings. But I do like the calm you mention. Sounds nice. Imaginary (for me), but nice.

    Have you tried the trick of melting a Rolo on top of a pretzel and pushing a pecan down on top? Easiest tasty holiday treat ever. Mmmm.

    98,990 by the way.

    • Tiffany says:

      I love stockings, too, but nobody in my family is particularly good at stuffing MINE (sorry, Bill, but it’s true), so I’ve given up on trying to rawk the stawk for everyone else. Call me Grinchy.

      I AM SO TRYING THE ROLO THING OMG.

Leave a Reply

