Fitting you with weapons in the form of words.

Posted: December 4, 2009 in Beyond Megapixels, Journal, photography, Readers Choice, UpTake, work

A while back, Dyskinesia (or was it Taoist Biker? or was it Dyskinesia e-mailing/commenting from Taoist Biker’s account?) asked me about my writing routine. She wanted to know how it was that I organized my work and came up with topics for the two writing gigs that I have (Beyond Megapixels and UpTake, for those of you who have been REALLY distracted lately and missed that part).

At the beginning of each invoicing cycle, I list out the days that I need to submit a post (whenever I feel like it for UpTake, though I try to offer 13-15 per month; and every Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday for Beyond Megapixels, plus one entry per week e-mailed to my editor for him to submit to other photography-oriented websites). Next to each date I list a potential tentative topic to write about. I actually have a list of ideas, one for travel related topics and one for photography related topics. I’m continually mildly surprised that I haven’t run out of ideas yet, and here I am 71 articles in for Beyond Megapixels, and 75 articles in for UpTake.

I am a wordy, wordy bitch. Have I mentioned?

For UpTake articles, I write about the places I’ve been, the stuff that’s going on in Arizona, the stuff that I recall and love from Maine, and any other travel related topic that comes to mind. Any time I go on vacation or out of town, I regard it with an eye toward spinning an article out of it. If there are holiday related festivals occurring in my home state, I write about them. I wrote a LOT about our road trip last summer – not only what we did during the trip, but how I planned and prepared for it.

Here are some of my favorites:

The Story of the Happy Buffalo
Eight Road Trip Pet Peeves
Three Jumping-Off Points to Canada
I Left My Heart in Portland, Maine
A Typical Sight at Scottsdale Fashion Square

For Beyond Megapixels, I write about photography and post-processing tips and techniques. Often times I’ll learn how to do something, and then immediately turn that into an article. If a new product has come out, I’ll talk about that. I’ve done lens reviews, book reviews, and talked about what’s going on at other photography websites. Articles about composition techniques seem to be popular, as are the articles where I’ve done a before/after post-processing tutorial, then asked folks what they would have done differently.

Here are some of my favorites:

Four Things Photography Has Taught Me
Photoshop CS3 – Create a Black and White Image
Four Basic Tips for Photographing the Moon (a guest entry for PhotoDoto)
Inspiring Emotion – Technical or Talent?
Event Photography – Restaurants

It’s fun, but it’s a lot of hard work. There are some weeks where I have so much to talk about, I don’t even know where to begin. There are other weeks when I have writer’s block like you read about, and can’t come up with a single topic. There are some weeks where I’m really on the ball and get all of my writing done per my schedule (Three on Saturday/Three on Sunday/Three on Monday). There are other weeks where I Just. Don’t. Feel. Like. It. Then I scramble on the day they are due to whip up a halfway-decent article.

I have a lot on my plate, but I’m having fun, so it still doesn’t feel like too much. When it stops being fun, then I’ll address what needs to stay and what needs to go.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Ye gods. I get tired just thinking about it!

    I have a hard enough time coming up with stuff for the blog, I can’t imagine spreading it out like you have. You clearly are, indeed, one wordy, wordy bitch. I imagine Bill keeps prodding you to expend some of those words on your various blogs as a last-ditch attempt at maintaining his sanity. 😀

    Seriously, holy crap you’re an inspiration!

  2. dyskinesia says:

    Ha, it was Door #3. 😉

    This is awesome! I love the idea of basically keeping a calendar for each invoice cycle, something that can definitely be carried through to even just a blog (ya know, for those of us who, um, almost need to schedule that sort of thing to ever manage to get it done 😛 ).

    As a reader (and a lame-ass photographer), I always love reading your articles. Not just because you always have something to convey to us, but just for the wonderful way that you write in general. It’s always a treat! SO, thanks for being a wordy, wordy bitch. 😉

    • Tiffany says:

      Hah! For once my memory wasn’t faulty!

      Fie on you, woman, your photography hasn’t a lame ass to be found!!! I’m glad you’re enjoying my work. I must confess that sometimes it feels like I’m shouting into the ether, since some entries garner very few comments or feedback.

  3. Shelli says:

    I must confess that sometimes it feels like I’m shouting into the ether, since some entries garner very few comments or feedback.

    Ya know, it’s funny – I’ve always blogged in places where you can give some sort of feedback without actually giving a comment. Sometimes it’s “kudos”, sometimes it’s a rating like you (and I) have. I’ve always given kudos on my other blog, just to let people know that I’ve read something, even if I can’t find a comment in my little brain that’s worth posting. With a “rating” system, I’m finding it a bit more difficult, just because I don’t want to offend if I rate something at 1 or 2 stars.

    How do you personally feel about the rating system? If you post something that I’m just not interested in, I don’t want to make you feel like I’ve ignored you altogether; I’d rather give you some sort of acknowledgment … right? Well, that’s how I feel about it on my blog, anyway, and I’m projecting a bit, I admit. 😉

  4. Envelssaiva says:

    Lots of folks talk about this topic but you wrote down some true words!

Leave a Reply

