Derailed

Posted: December 3, 2009 in bitching, work

Whoa. I am SO TIRED. I had a photography gig last night that kept us (Bill came with me) out until about 10:30. My neck and back have been aching like hell lately, so I took a couple of Tylenol PM’s and went to bed at about 11:00. When the alarm went off this morning I somehow managed to turn it off, put on my slippers, stumble out into the kitchen, fix myself a cup of coffee, drink half of said cup, turn on the shower, get undressed, and be halfway through washing my hair before I actually opened my eyes.

Exasperating my tiredness is the fact that I have been unable to have my customary cup of tea (Earl Grey. Hot. Which is, actually, my favorite tea) this morning. The water line in the cafeteria at AcronymCo is broken. Hence, no water (or coffee, or tea, or soda) in the cafe until the water line is fixed. It is unbelievable, the sheer amount of whining (hi) going on in the office today. When people are forced out of their routines, mayhem ensues. And it’s a well-known fact that AcronymCo employees run primarily on high-octane caffeine. I predict that very little in the way of actual work will get done, today.

In other news, I am so fucking homesick I want to throw up.

So. How are you?

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Headachy and probably going to be reliant upon Coke to get me through the radio show tonight. But not so homesick.

  2. jadesymb says:

    so glad I’m not at work. Can’t function without my morning drinks! And I suppose that means no ice too?

    I am tired.

    What was the photo gig?

  3. Heather says:

    Reading the homesick part makes my heart ache for you. I wish I could help. I also wish I could go home with you sometime so you could show me around. ­čśÇ

  4. Amanda says:

    There’s a magnet on our fridge at work that says “No coffee, no workee” Heh.

  5. Kimmothy says:

    I just read this quote the other day:
    “Christmas is a time when you get homesick – even when you’re home.” ~Carol Nelson

    I have no idea who Carol Nelson is, but she nailed it.

Leave a Reply

