Our Dinner (in three-and-a-half weeks)

Posted: December 1, 2009 in Food, Holiday

I think we’re going to break with tradition this year and forgo the whole Christmas lobster dinner thing. I know, GASP, right? I might do a smaller lobster dinner at some point early next year (I start getting grumpy if I’ve gone too long without lobstah), but we’re changing things up this Christmas. Plus, just as Thanksgiving turned out to be this year, we’re not expecting a crowd for Christmas dinner. Last year we had nine people for dinner. This year it might just end up being me and Bill. Won’t prevent me from cooking an ass-ton of food, though.

(As an aside, prices really aren’t half-bad right now, if you’re tempted to try your hand at your own Christmas lobster dinner. Maine Lobster Direct quotes a half-dozen 1.65 pound (large) lobsters, FedEx overnight shipping included, at just shy of $140.00. That’s about $14 per pound.)

This year I plan on preparing a Standing Prime Rib Roast. I was hoping I would have to justify the purchase of a Dutch Oven, but it seems my plain ol’ roasting pan will do. It will be accompanied by Twice Baked Potato Casserole and some sort of veggie (asparagus, broccoli, or cauliflower are most likely).

I will be making a batch of Baked Potato Soup, Magic Cookie Bars, and quite possibly THE Pie(tm).

I don’t have the week of Christmas AND the week of New Year’s off this year, like I usually do. Our boss asked that we take one or the other off, but not both. So I’m on vacation from Christmas Day until January 4th, which still isn’t half-bad. It just means I’ll have less time to back various and sundry goodies. Which, really, can only be good for my waistline.

It’s December 1st, people. WTF?

Comments
  1. sherry says:

    I can’t believe it’s December already. I set up the advent calendar that I made last night, all the while mumbling that I can’t get over how fast November flew by.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I wore my Grinch tie to my meetings yesterday. I asked Dys if it was too early, then thought WTF, I only wear it a few days a year anyway. Still it seems ri-goddamn-diculously early for that sort of thing. I maintain that it’s at best September 14th.

  3. Shelli says:

    You certainly do plan for your dinners WAY too early! 😉 I fear I’ll never eat lobster again, especially at that price! Good grief, that’s half our total monthly food budget! I think my Husband and Son would be mighty pissed if I spent it on lobster … my Husband more than my Son, ’cause he’s allergic to seafood (although, he’s already planned that it will be his last meal *grin*). 😦

Leave a Reply

