Experiment

Posted: November 13, 2009 in Blogthings, boredom, Bring the funny, WTF

This one is the fault of The Bloggess.

Typed “why” into the Google search engine, got this:

why

Typed “do”, got this:

whydo

Changed “do” to “does”, got this:

whydoes

Typed “my”, got this:

whydoesmy

Typed “husband”, got this:

whydoesmyhusband

To be fair, replaced “husband” with “wife”, got this:

whydoesmywife

Replaced “wife” with “child”, got this:

whydoesmychild

Try it yourself. You’ll get interesting results with dog, cat, daughter, son, boss, boyfriend, girlfriend, and goldfish. Review. Ponder. Discuss what this says about the most popular reasons to use a search engine. Insert social commentary here.

Okay, one more, just for fun:

whydoeseveryone

Oh, and this one’s for my friends in Canada!

whycan't

Okay, I’m done now. Swear.

Comments
  1. dyskinesia says:

    OMG, if I get the time, I need to do a medical one of these for you. Of course, it will totally end up X-rated. ANY body part can get you X-rated results!

    These were fun! I love more than anything that the husband and wife both had “fart so much” in the options. My social commentary opinion is that we are all terribly ignorant of our own bodies (in general, not just with the gas) and that we all need to wake up and realize that we need to bond with our friends and family more, especially if we feel our only resource is to ask Google.

    That said, the flip side commentary is that we are lucky to live in an age where we have access to credible information so quickly, right there at our fingertips. Unfortunately, there are A LOT of people out there who have no idea how to determine what is credible information and what isn’t.

    And now, back to work!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I see “Why do men have nipples” and I think of that episode of “Night Court” where it was discovered that Bull was a genius and he briefly went to work for a think tank.

    Bull: “I spend most of my time thinking about the important stuff. [topic 1, topic 2,] why men have nipples…”
    Harry: “What have you come up with on that one?”
    Bull: “I figure they’re just like the portholes on a ’57 Buick. Just for decoration.”

  3. Shelli says:

    I don’t usually use Google, I actually prefer Ask.com, but a few weeks ago, I stumbled onto a fun(ny) way to use Google. It’s called <a href="http://mashable.com/2009/10/12/mystery-google/&quot; Mystery Google. You can read about it from that link. Very interesting, the things that people search, that’s for damn sure! 😀 Now I must go find out why my cat licks me …..

  4. Jeanette says:

    OK “Why doesn’t my parakeet eat my diarrhea”? Thats just wrong, so wrong!!

Leave a Reply

