Real quick like

Posted: November 10, 2009 in Friends, goals, Health/Fitness, Holiday, Journal

jensencarA quota entry!

Going to Jersey’s tonight for Joss’ benefit party. I really hope we have a great turnout! Well, I’m sure we will, Joss is well-known and loved by a TON of people. The bar and restaurant industry, she is incestuous, and they’ve all worked with each other multiple times, at multiple establishments. I’ll bring the camera, of course, and have a ton of pictures to share soon. Because I know y’all can’t get enough of my pictures. Admit it.

Is it weird that I’m more looking forward to Thanksgiving than to Christmas? I think Marie is going to have the expectation that we decorate, since she’s home with us this year, and I SO don’t want to do it. I guess I could tell her that if she wants it, she has to do it. But I know come, oh, January 17th, the stuff will still be up and I’ll be the one who has to drag it all back down again. Meh. I ADORED Christmas when Calvin and I first got together, it waned a bit when the kids got older and Michael moved out, surged to the forefront again with the grandbabies were born, and now I’d like to just skip it altogether.

I’m such a bad, bad Christian.

I am pretty much over being sick, which means I have no more excuse to not work out and eat right again. It’s kind of nice to put everything else on hold but the goal of just feeling better, when you’re sick. I didn’t give a good god damn about my appearance or my weight, didn’t feel guilty that I wasn’t eating right (kind of because I wasn’t eating much at all!), and it didn’t cross my mind once that I should flop around on the elliptical. Now, all of those “gotsta do’s” have come right on back. Phooey.

Uh, okay. That’s all I got today, folks!

(Today’s icon = just because.)

Comments
  1. Shelli says:

    I’d love to skip the holidays altogether! I only really sorta kinda enjoy New Years Eve. I’m looking forward to the end of the cold weather holidays … all the way to 4th of July! LOL But of all the holidays, xmas is my least favorite. Bah Humbug!

  2. Kimmothy says:

    Today’s icon = grrrowl! Thanks for that!
    I kind of feel the same way about the holidays this year. I love the *idea* of Christmas and some of the things that go along with it (riding around looking at lights, the spicy cheese crackers my MIL only makes this time of year) but usually the actual day ends up being a big ol’ BLAH. I know I’d feel different if I had a kid, but…I don’t.
    Glad you’re feeling better – it’s always a good feeling to rejoin the human race.

    • Laura says:

      Happy to be of service!

      I want some spicy cheese crackers! I always dump Cholula Salt on my Cheez-Its, but I have a feeling your MIL’s are better.

  3. crisitunity says:

    BF and I got a promo postcard from a resort in the Poconos where we spent one wonderful weekend. (And many, many times in the THREE YEARS since we went on that single trip, we’ve gotten glossy, expensive-looking postcards promoting them. Their marketing department must be desperate. ANYWAY.) I noticed that we could book three nights at any time from now till December 26, and I suddenly wondered what it would be like to SKIP CHRISTMAS ENTIRELY. Just walk away from it all. Say sorry, but we, uh, won this trip, and we could only book during Xmas. BF could not think of a good reason why not, and the postcard is still sitting in our kitchen, tempting us.

    Also, I wanted to add that if you work out and eat right, you will get sick less often and be derailed into not working out and eating right less often as well. Just a little note to maybe motivate a little?

    • Laura says:

      That sounds like HEAVEN. Just skip the holidays altogether, and nobody can fuss at you when you’re out of town.

      Yes ma’am, I know. Unfortunately there seems to be a gap in my brain between “knowing” and “doing”. 😀

Leave a Reply

