Wracked

Posted: November 4, 2009 in Friends, Health/Fitness

firedJen is going to revoke my friend status, I think. She’s in labor right now, at the hospital, and I’m not there.

No, I’m at home with a stuffed head and a sore throat. She texted me this morning to say she was at the hospital, and I texted her back that I was sick and thought maybe I shouldn’t attend the delivery. She agreed, of course – germs and brand new babies don’t mix!

Still, I feel guilty as all hell about it. We’ve been planning on me attending this delivery for YEARS – right after her first son was born, who is three now. She kept joking that I wasn’t allowed to move back to Maine until her second child was born so I could be there.

And where am I, instead of at the hospital, camera in hand? In my jammies. In bed.

She and her husband already think I’m a flake, because I’ve had to bow out of our plans a couple of times in the past for unforseen circumstances. This one, though? This is ONE BIG MISS. I’m wracked with guilt.

GAH. This sucks.

———-

In other news, I am no longer afraid of my Neti Pot.

I started feeling way crummy yesterday afternoon – what I thought was allergies turned out to be a full-blown cold. Head stuffed, the beginnings of a sore throat… so I stopped at the store on the way home from work and stocked up on sickypoo gear. Advil, cold medicine, nasal spray, lozenges, Gatorade, rye bread (for toast, my favorite sick food), tea, honey, and crackers.

Once home I got in my jammies and curled up on the couch with an afghan and a pillow. Calvin made breakfast skillet for dinner, and I had a couple of cups of tea. I was stuffed to high heaven, so Calvin suggested that I finally crack out the Neti Pot that I bought a couple of years ago. It has languished, unused, under the sink since then.

I mean, it’s kind of creepy, right? Pouring water up one side of your nose and having it run back out the other side, carrying snot and detritus and goodness knows what else?

At that point I was willing to try anything to un-stuff my head, so I cracked out the Neti Pot, read the directions, heated up some water and stirred in some kosher salt, then stood in the bathroom, staring at myself in the mirror. I practiced contorting and tilting my head for a moment, then just womaned-up and stuck the thing in my nose. I tilted the pot up and could feel the warm water in my nasal cavities. A moment later, a steady stream of… well, we’ll call it water… poured out of the opposite nostril and neatly into the sink. I un-tilted my head a bit too soon, and swallowed salt water. Still, not uncomfortable. I tilted my head the other way, repeated the process in the other nostril, and was again successful. Then I “blew vigorously” out of both nostrils to clear the passages of water.

I straightened up, and discovered that I really did feel better. Lookit me, being all brave and stuff!

I went to bed at about 8:30, ears crackling (GEEZ I hope I don’t come down with an ear infection), throat burning. I had the most MESSED UP DREAMS about being in high school, and being picked on by the other kids, and trying to fend for myself but being interrupted because MY TEETH KEPT BREAKING UP AND FALLING OUT. So I’d have to spit tooth shards into my hand before I could give my tormentor what-for.

Cold medicine is DA BOMB.

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    1) I think you made the right call staying home, even though you’re understandably tortured about it.

    2) I have to say, I don’t think the Neti Pot sounds all that appealing to me. But if I felt bad enough, I might give it a go.

    3) HELL YEAH to cold medicine. [Denis Leary]I’m high as a kite and my teeth are green! Merry fucking Christmas![/Denis]

  2. crisitunity says:

    You should hear about some of the other cleansing practices that the neti pot is only one of. S h u d d e r.

  3. cas says:

    Love the neti pot but not always in the mood to do a nasal flush! What works for me is sinol-m nasal spray mostly because its all natural, convenient and it works. It has kept my nasal passages clean and clear of congestion. No more sinus infections or sinus headaches. you may want to try it. It’s OTC with no side effects or rebound.

    • Laura says:

      I had to laugh at that – who is EVER “in the mood” to do a nasal flush? ~grin~ I’ve never heard of Sinol-m, I’ll look for it the next time I’m at the drug store, thanks!

  4. David says:

    So THAT’s what a neti pot is. Someone tried to explain that to me once but I didn’t really get it. Now I do. Thanks Laura. Good job womaning up. Funny dreams. Musta been tough for you in high school with all the dental trouble.

    True friend status can survive such buffeting. 🙂

    • Laura says:

      I did have braces in jr. high and suffered the required amount of teasing… I dunno. Can’t explain that dream!

      I’m looking forward to talking to Jen – her baby was born at around 11:30 this morning and I’m wondering when it will be appropriate to call and beg for forgiveness.

  5. Shelli says:

    Aww hun, I know the feeling! I missed my best friend’s WEDDING because I was sick with a bastard of a cold AND a migraine. 😦

    I’ve never heard of a neti pot. This is actually something that’s sold in stores?! :-O Where do you find such a thing? I ask, because although it sounds highly unappealing, it’s something I might actually consider doing. My other option would be to get a drink of some carbonated beverage and have someone make me laugh until I snort it out. (yeah, I’ve given this some actual thought before! LOL)

    I hope you start feeling better soon. I know the crackling feeling, I’m experiencing it at the present moment myself. I call it my Rice Crispies ears – Snap! Crackle! Pop! I’m also gearing up for an ear infection. *sigh* I swear by Nyquil, but it doesn’t appear to cause funky dreams. I also use Robitussin; I buy every kind available, but only use the one I need at the time. I hate those dual meds, ’cause they seem a bit contradictory. My Son is amazed at my knowledge of medicines (I can pronounce the ingredients!). LOL

Leave a Reply

