My favorite month

Posted: November 1, 2009 in Arizona, Food, Friends, weekend

energytattooNovember is my favorite month, I think. It’s when the weather finally and irrevocably turns cool ’round these here parts. In October you can still easily bump up over ninety degrees, but in November the temps usually stay firmly in the “sweater weather” category.

Now, if I still lived in Maine, I’d say that June was my favorite month. And October. And they probably will be again, WHEN we live there again.

In celebration of this, the inaugural day of my favorite month, I put together some beef stew in the crockpot. I cut a two and a half pound chuck roast into quarters instead of buying the beef stew meat from the grocery store – the stew meat tends to be tough, but chuck roast always falls apart beautifully in the crock pot, so I figure I’ll just shred it up when it’s cooked and mix it in with the potatoes, carrots, and onions. The original recipe actually calls for turnips, too, but I’ve never been a fan. And if I’m not a fan of a certain veggie, you can bet your bippy Calvin wouldn’t eat it, either.

Man, I’ve been productive in the first hour of my consciousness this morning. Fed the cats, fed the lizards, and threw together the stew before I even had my coffee. Joss will be here in a couple of hours so I’m going to bang out an article or two before I get in the shower. Then it’s ALL FOOTBALL ALL DAY LONG, BABY!

 Mwah, dahlings!

Comments
  1. Taoist Biker says:

    It’s getting time to bust the crockpot out here too, which always makes me happy too. 🙂

    You know, if you ever want to expound on it, would love to hear about your writing process and how you choose what to write about/when, how you organize and keep track of that, etc. Love to hear about those kinds of details!

  2. Hilly says:

    I love November as well. It starts with my birthday and brings with it the holiday season!

Leave a Reply

