Our Dinner, in Five Weeks

Posted: October 22, 2009 in booze, Family, Food, Holiday, Listy goodness

swedishchefThis turkey, which is easy-peasy, except for the whole having to remember to baste every twenty minutes thing.

These mashed potatoes, with gravy. I shall have to resist making a double batch because we always end up with a ton left over, for some reason.

Connoisseur’s Vegetable Casserole – Thanksgiving is the only time of the year that I make it, just to keep it special – everybody loves it.

Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Sweet Roasted Rosemary Acorn Squash, to replace the sweet potatoes/yams that nobody in my household eats, and that I miss every year. Nobody else but me will eat this, either, but it’s easy enough to make just one for me.

I recall last year of being tired of the dressing recipe I’ve been using for years (this one, to be exact), so I’ve decided to try PW’s dressing this year.

Pumpkin Pie, of course – Marie would have a fit if I didn’t make it this year (I didn’t make it last year… hence, fit). I might make PW’s Whiskey Whipped Cream to go with it.

(I love Pioneer Woman’s recipes, have you noticed? I’ve pre-ordered her cookbook, too. Just in time for Thanksgiving!)

A tossed salad with baby lettuces, radishes, grape tomatoes, cucumbers (which Calvin will pick out), red bell peppers, shredded carrots, crumbled bacon, shredded cheddar, croutons, and ranch dressing. Just the way my family likes it.

Potato rolls ala Aunt Hattie’s – my family’s favorite.

Cranberry sauce – the canned kind; I’m too lazy to make my own and I’m the only one who eats it, anyway. And THIS YEAR, DAMMIT, I’ll remember to put it out on the table.

A bottle of Gentleman Jack, a six-pack of 1554, and a bottle of Barefoot Pinot Noir.

I’m assuming that we’re just having Marie, Michael, and Michael’s girlfriend (I’ve gotta come up with a name for her to use here, since she’s such a fixture in our lives!) over for Thanksgiving dinner, though Michael’s girlfriend’s parents have moved back to Arizona after living on Ohio for some time, so they might be going over there instead. Plus, Marie will probably be doing something with her mom, too – both kids usually split some time between both households on the day. So who knows, it might just be me and Calvin sitting at the table. Thing is? You can’t really MAKE a Thanksgiving dinner for just two people.

(We miss you, Heather!)

Good thing leftovers are a tradition. The animals are going to make out like bandits, too, I suspect.

Comments
  1. Jessica says:

    Wow…that all looks amazing…

    It’s sad. We haven’t even figured out what we’re DOING for Thanksgiving yet.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Thanksgiving is in Virginia for us this year. It should be fairly relaxing, I think.

    (I notice no The Pie on your list. Given the rest of your list, I think you’re forgiven – that little dagger would probably put you all the way over into caloric death. 😉 )

    • Laura says:

      The Pie will be a Christmas thing this year, I think, since I made it for my birthday and am not yet (quite) craving it. The craving will kick in in December, I’m sure.

  3. Shelli says:

    I used to have the kind of Thanksgiving you’re describing, only with 30+ people filling an entire house. People even took their plates into bedrooms to sit on beds to eat, because there weren’t enough tables or chairs for everyone! LOL

    Once in my 20’s, though, things started to change. Now, approaching 40, and I can’t remember the last decent Thanksgiving meal I’ve eaten. For the past 4 years, we’ve eaten with my Husband’s family, and boy is that different!

    Now, instead of spilling it all here, you’ve inspired me to write a blog of my own, about Thanksgiving meals. I’ll come back with a link when I’m finished. 😉

  4. Kimmothy says:

    Not that you need any cooking tips for the love of God, but a little trick I learned that makes it not necessary to baste a turkey at all ever again? Attach strips of bacon with toothpicks all over the bird. It doesn’t really change the flavor of the turkey (except for giving it MORE flavor, which in my opinion every turkey needs) and it comes out perfectly moist and juicy and wonderful. I’ve done it the past two years and it worked out great both times.

  5. iamheatherjo says:

    I miss you kids, too! Thanksgiving is actually holding no interest for me this year for a building multitude of reasons so I think a couple friends and I will just go somewhere else for a little bit of food (no stuffin’ my face this year) and some football.

  6. […] And you know, that’s okay. I’m not going all-out this year with the cooking – the menu I posted last month has been pared down considerably (now just turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, veggie […]

  7. […] and some who are just overly excited about the holiday (or just like to prepare early, like Tiffany […]

  8. […] I tend to plan Thanksgiving out completely within the first week of November – sometimes even before that. This year, Thanksgiving is next week and I’m […]

Leave a Reply

