Anticipating a good weekend.

Posted: October 16, 2009 in Arizona, Calvin, photography, weekend, work

1iconphotoNot to jinx anything, but I’m anticipating a good weekend. As I mentioned previously, Calvin has to work up in Flagstaff all weekend (Overtime! Woo! Double-time! Woo Hoo! Twelve straight days of work! Boo!). After work today, I’m going to stop at the grocery store for some cat food and dog food, gas up the truck, go home and feed the animals, pack, then drive my little fanny up to Flagstaff to join my husband.

Highs in Flagstaff this weekend? 72-75. Highs in Phoenix this weekend? 98-101. Yeah, we have a few more days of stupid hot weather before we finally settle down into fall. Typical. Lows in Flag this weekend are supposed to be around 40, which makes me stoked that I will be able to wear the ADORABLE leather jacket that Calvin picked out for me in the gift shop at The Irma, while we were in Wyoming during our road trip. Seriously. It’s absolutely precious. I got to wear it briefly last weekend when Calvin and I took a ride on the motorcycle one evening, and it was brisk enough after the sun went down as to be a little nipply at speed. I was STUPID giddy about it. Perhaps I’ll take a picture of myself wearing it, this weekend.

Anyway, in a few hours I’m going to load up the CD changer with a selection of discs (TB’s infamous mixes shall come in handy for this), program one of the XM comedy channels into the preset on the radio, and have my iPod handy in case the first two items don’t keep me entertained enough. I actually enjoy taking longer drives by myself, sometimes, and I’m looking forward to listening to some good tunes, or having a few good laughs, during the two-and-a-half hour drive up to Flagstaff.

Then I will meet Calvin at his hotel, and we will hunt up some dinner, probably accompanied by Calvin’s co-worker, who is working the same job this weekend. Brandy’s Restaurant was recently featured on Diners, Drive-In’s, and Dives, so if I can’t convince them to try it out for dinner, I’ll probably hit it for breakfast or lunch on my own at some point.

While Calvin is working on Saturday and Sunday, I shall occupy myself with finding various locations in which to hike, accompanied by my camera (of course). I also have thoughts of checking out the birds of prey demonstration at The Arboretum, and The Lowell Observatory has free admission on Sundays. Plus there’s the Museum of Northern Arizona, and I also want to wander around the campus at Northern Arizona University.

I plan on turning this into somewhat of a working weekend, too, and getting some writing done for UpTake and Beyond Megapixels while I have the hotel room to myself. Otherwise, I anticipate being fully occupied with my camera stuck in front of my face the whole time.

I’ll probably be blogging from Flagstaff, but I wanted to wish everyone an excellent weekend. Also, I just realized there’s only six weeks until Thanksgiving. Is it a bit paranoid of me, that I’ve already started planning the menu?

Comments
  1. angelcel says:

    One of the joys of living on a continent ….bomb off to an entirely different area. I’m envious. Have a great time – I look forward to seeing th photos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

