Whole Lotta

Posted: October 6, 2009 in Beyond Megapixels, Home, Listy goodness, photography, Pimp, TV, vacation, work

beeI just posted on Twitter, “Hmm. I’m on “vacation” and yet I have just come to the conclusion that I have done enough work for today. Ponder. Discuss.”

My days are every bit as busy as they would have been if I were at AcronymCo this week – since I didn’t take a vacation from my other THREE jobs (eep), this week is more about catching up on all of my other stuff, than slouching around napping and reading and whatnot.

Not that I’m complaining (no, not really!), since I enjoy the other stuff. And, what else would I be doing with my days, anyway? I like to be productive. It keeps the depression and anxiety at bay.

Calvin is gone for the week – got called down to Tucson (I always always ALWAYS want to put the “s” before the “c”) this morning and will be there until Friday. So, on the one hand, lonely. On the other hand, looooots of “free” time on my hands to get shit done. Not that he “takes up” a lot of my time, per say – just that I’d rather be doing him than doing anything else. And all that statement implies.

I got up bright(ish) and early(ish) to get a start on things – I’ve gotta say, I’m feeling rather accomplished:

– I finally got the domain set up and “turned on” for Sandstone’s website – go check it out and let me know what you think!
– I posted the pictures from the Four Peaks Beer Event that I did the photography for back on Sunday night, and I also wrote up the Staff Bios.
– I added a bunch of e-mail addresses to Sandstone’s Google Group and sent out an update.
– I edited a handful of pictures that I took when we were just hanging out at the bar back on the 2nd. I was getting used to the lens.
– I wrote a guest post for Beyond Megapixels – my editor will submit it to another photography website. Once I know where it’s landing I’ll update you guys – it’s one I’m rather proud of.
– I wrote an entry about Scott Kelby’s latest digital photography book, which will be publishing on Beyond Megapixels tomorrow morning at 8:00 a.m. (my time).
– I took Marie’s pit bull for a walk down to the edge of the neighborhood and back.
– I watched one episode of Supernatural and two episodes of House.
– I soaked and fed worms to both of the beardies.
– I ate a salad, and also some crackers with Trader Joe’s spicy hummus dip.

Tonight, though I still feel like I should keep hammering away at all the writing I need to do, I’m going to call work “done”. I’ve got the series premier of “Stargate Universe” waiting for me on the DVR, and an episode of “Medium”. I’ve officially (after only one episode each) given up on “The Forgotten”, “Mercy”, “Trauma”, and “Flash Forward” (I actually just read the book, so now I’m all “Eh, I know what happens”). I watched the first episode of “Three Rivers” and plan to keep going with it – it made me cry, so there’s gotta be some good there. So! My TV watching schedule isn’t as insane as I originally feared it would be.

I also plan on getting caught up on everyone’s websites – sorry I’ve been quiet on the comments, lately. Still love you all to pieces!!!

Yeah, gotta clean the kitchen first, though. No rest for the wicked! (whine whine whine whine…)

Comments
  1. iamheatherjo says:

    I just got done yelling at the tv while watching baseball and then I yelled at the tv while watching Sons of Anarchy. I think I’m going to bed now.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I like the Sandstone web site! For now the “Home” and “Welcome” are the same; may want to change that or remove one or the other until you can. Just IMHO. And speaking of my opinion, perhaps some more Tiffany would be nice. Yes, I believe so. 😀

    You know, I just bought the Big Bang Theory S1 on DVD and then Dys told me I’m not allowed to watch it without her. Well, damn, buying it was part of my strategy to keep myself occupied on nights she’s working! *facepalm*

    • Laura says:

      Okay, I figured out how to “hide” one, thanks for the head’s up. Calvin echos your sentiments about Tiffany. 😀

      You know, BBT is more fun when you watch it with someone… find some other show on DVD that she’s not interested in and watch THAT one while she’s working!

  3. Shelli says:

    Wow, busy bee, huh? I haven’t picked up many new shows of this season, either. Maybe I’m getting jaded in my old age, but I swear it never fails: I really get into a show, and it’s dropped after like the 6th episode and I’m left wondering what happened, ’cause they NEVER tell you. Most of the time, I go searching for it online, but I’ve gotten to the point that I just don’t care anymore.

    I am however watching Flash Forward, and just watched Three Rivers last night. I’m gonna be pissed if FF gets dropped, since there’s an “ending” to it. Three Rivers, well it’s ok, but the only reason I’m really interested is because of that hunk that made a much better vampire! *drool*

    • Laura says:

      He DID make a better vampire (and that’s one of the shows I was sorry to see go). Didn’t the fact that emergency personnel were wandering around arresting people instead of, oh, I don’t know, HELPING VICTIMS bug you in the FF premier?

      • Shelli says:

        I’d give anything to have Moonlight back on!! Talk about some very interesting dreams after watching! LOL

        Yeah, that did bug me, but I think I was just so confused about the whole thing that I didn’t stop to think too much about it. I was still thinking, at 58 minutes, “WTF happened?!”. 😀

  4. Kimmothy says:

    I gave up on Mercy and Trauma too. I keep looking for that magical 1990’s ER feeling and keep getting disappointed. Thank God for Dr. House or I’d have no medical drama in my life at all. Well, you know – besides my own. Ha!

    • Laura says:

      Oh, the magic of 90’s ER will NEVER be duplicated. And, what do you think of the new and improved Dr. House? It’s jarring, to me, to see him with a genuine smile on his face every now and then. Thank God he still tied that guy up against his will, I’d have thought the old Dr. House was dead and gone!

  5. Dyskinesia says:

    Love the Sandstone website — suggestion would be a pic of each food type next the heading for each type of thing on the Menu page? Salad, burger, etc. Food showcase always pulls them in! I’m looking at it in Safari and need to look in IE to see if I see differences too 🙂

Leave a Reply

